We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
206
33
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
33
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages dog lucy new zealand milford sound country setting self contained wonderful hosts home away from home minute drive two nights great bed south island bedroom cottage the kitchen dining table relaxing stay surrounding mountains
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with partner. Accomodation is warm and cosy. The bathrobes are luxurious! Nice little place to stay if you are planning on spending the day at Milford Sound. Still close to the town centre of Te Anau.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 days at Blue Thistle Cottages. Our cottage was very clean and comfortable with beautiful views of the surrounding gardens and mountains. We arrived during a cold snap so the mountain tops were covered with snow which was an added bonus for us. There are 4 cottages on the property but each has its own garden making for a very private and peaceful stay. The new owners, Rachel and David, are friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay at Blue Thistle again if we ever come back to Te Anau.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Our cabin had excellent views of the mountains etc. It was well equipped and very comfortable and clean throughout. Car parking next to the cabin was good for unloading luggage!!.
The location is a short drive into the centre and approx 90mins drive to Milford Sound.
We understood that the owners on site when we stayed were selling up so we cannot say what the cabins and facilities are like now.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Degs7015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Wife and I and another couple stayed at the Blue Thistle for two nights. We all very much enjoyed the appointed cottages out in the country with the cows grazing right out your front door. The cottages were very comfortable with eat in kitchen area, living room and large bath room. Bedroom and beds were very comfortable For the record, TV in NZ on the whole is not very good, but the Blue Thistle had the best TV by far with a large channel selection. The setting is quiet country but only a 2 minute easy drive into town. Also there is plenty of parking in town, so the drive to dinner was not an issue at all.

I can not end this review without speaking about our hosts....Peter and Annette. Both are delightful. We spent more time with Peter who was a riot and fun person to get to know.
Unfortunately, Peter and Annette have sold the property to new owners taking over around April 4. Peter and Annette seemed to be happy with the on coming new owners and I would hope that they will maintain the property as well. Best to both Peter and Annette in your new venture and thank you for a wonderful stay at the Blue Thistle.

Van & Marcia

Room tip: There are only four cottages and one is a two bedroom. They are all privately placed on the property.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vdeeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Three night stay in Feb 18. Really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage was spotless and comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Lovely fluffy bathrobes were a nice touch.
Peter and Annette were very welcoming and helpful.
The view from our secluded cottage garden area was gorgeous and it was very peaceful sitting outside in the early evening sun.
Thoroughly recommend as a place to explore Fiordland from. Te Anau is five mins drive away with plenty of free parking in the town.
Thanks very much for a great stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markalinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews