We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
208
33
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
33
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages dog lucy new zealand milford sound country setting self contained home away from home wonderful hosts minute drive two nights tv channels bedroom cottage great bed south island dining table the kitchen relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Three night stay in Feb 18. Really enjoyed our stay here. The cottage was spotless and comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Lovely fluffy bathrobes were a nice touch.
Peter and Annette were very welcoming and helpful.
The view from our secluded cottage garden area was gorgeous and it was very peaceful sitting outside in the early evening sun.
Thoroughly recommend as a place to explore Fiordland from. Te Anau is five mins drive away with plenty of free parking in the town.
Thanks very much for a great stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markalinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

The Blue Thistle Cottages are ideal in getting you away from the throngs of tourists that descend into Te Anau during the high season. The cottages are quiet, impeccably clean, comfortable and well appointed, it’s only 5 minutes from the town center and Lake Te Anau, and Annette and Peter are great hosts. And if you don’t have time to do a long tramp in the area, do drive north to the Routeburn Track trailhead and do the spectacular three-hour roundtrip Key Summit hike. The drive is beautiful and it’s only a little over an hour each way.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kinabalu-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We decided to book the two bedrooms cottage with Peter and Annette after all the glowing reviews in TripAdvisor and we had absolutely no regrets. We had some reservations at first because it was a couple of kms from the town centre and more than what we had wanted to pay for a couple of nights. But the Blue Thistle was everything and more than what we expected. The cottage was charming and beautifully decorated with a touch of luxury among a peaceful, rustic setting.

The kitchen was complete with cooking facilities, utensils and crockery and well stocked with tea and coffee amenities. Probably the only things that are missing on my wish list would be a washing machine and dryer. But really, the stay in this beautiful corner of Te Anau has been unique and worth every cents that we paid for.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017

My husband and I stayed two nights at Blue Thistle just last week.
It was absolutely perfect for us.
Upon arrival we were greeted so warmly by Annette, Peter and Lucy their dog. Annette kindly showed us to our cottage, explained local amenities and facilities of the cottage. The cottage itself is spotless, cosy and well equipped. Lots of thoughtful touches - gorgeous fluffy robes and towels, lovely soft bed linens, great toiletries, The cottages are very private and quiet but only a couple of mins drive from the town centre. I would highly recommend Blue Thistle Cottages, we had a fantastic stay, just wish it had been longer!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank southenglandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

After the many hours of flying then the bustle of ZQN, driving down and staying in the peaceful cottages was perfect! It was just what we hoped for. The cottage was nicely furnished, the grocery store only a couple minutes away in town, and of course Lucy the wonder dog happy to see us. We booked the bus tour to Milford and they picked us up right in front of the property. Highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TravellerGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews