We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$295
Fully refundable before Thu, 18 Apr
Expedia.com
$295
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$273
Fully refundable before Fri, 19 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Scott
Hong Kong, China
Good motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Feb 2020
We had a studio room which was comfortable enough for our one night stay before an early departure to Milford Sound. An easy enough walk into town for dinner/drinks if you don't want to drive. Would stay again.
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$270
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $270
  • Vio.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $270
0.1 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$422
  • Expedia.com
    $422
  • Hotels.com
    $391
  • Priceline
    $422
0.3 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$267
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $267
  • Priceline
    $281
0.3 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$588
  • Expedia.com
    $535
  • Agoda.com
    $458
  • Hotels.com
    $535
0.2 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Booking.com
$65
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $65
  • Expedia.com
    $86
  • Hotels.com
    $90
0.5 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free parking
Booking.com
$315
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $260
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Priceline
    $315
0.4 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Hotels.com
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Priceline
    $140
1.1 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$288
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $273
1.7 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$307
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $307
  • StayForLong
    $282
  • Hotels.com
    $307
0.1 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$311
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $335
  • Expedia.com
    $311
  • Hotels.com
    $311
0.7 km from Anchorage Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
187
151
58
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
187
151
58
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen milford sound comfortable bed bedroom apartment lake view motel kitchenette toiletries accommodation cutlery cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2019

Stayed here just the one night for work. My colleague was booked in across the road at the Kingsgate. Prior to our arrival we both thought she had got the better booking. We we're wrong.

Check-in at the Anchorage was a breeze, very friendly owner. My room was a spacious 2 bedroom with a equally spacious lounge. TV's in every room, underfloor heating in the bathroom. Although the shower pressure was low-ish, the sheer volume of water it released was magnificent! Kitchen was well kitted out with a very large fridge. There is also a large BBQ which can be moved around close to your room if you need.

Room was very close to the road but room was very quiet with zero road noise. Bed was really comfortable with excellent linen and quality pillows. One or two little flaws which stopped me voting for 5 stars but those were so minor they're not worth mentioning.

By contrast, my work colleague's stay across the road was far, far less enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Anchorage to all.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DaveBevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2019

My experience started out by Expedia letting me book a room here after hours when it shouldn't have. There was no one on site and being that I'm from the US but was in New Zealand, was not able to call Expedia to sort it out. While trying to figure out where else I could stay, I get a message from the motel owner who was out of town on business. He said Expedia should not have let me book it but he was going to try and get ahold of someone local to help me. In about 10 minutes a woman drove up and checked me in. She was extremely friendly and did not seem troubled at all even though it was about 10pm by that time. The room itself was shockingly wonderful. The room was very spacious and the bed comfortable. The whole room had great touches which seemed way above the typical motel norm. You can tell the owners care about the customer experience here. It was a bonus it is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, That all said, I would highly recommend this property.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DeneMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

This place was awesome - loved the wood fired outdoor cedar bath +++++ Under floor heating in the bathroom was a bonus too! Nigel made us feel welcome, the location was handy and everything was clean. Would happily return here

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NopocketsincoffinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2019 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and totally impressed with our accommodation. Comfy bed, hot showers with heated towel rack and underfloor heating in bathroom. Lovely modern kitchen area with microwave, and private outdoor area at the back of the room. Good lighting for reading. Walking distance to lake and shops.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dorrigogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2019

We stayed overnight. The room was modern,warm and comfortable with all the amenities we required. Nice lake walk nearby and close to town centre but in a quiet vicinity.
Staff were very helpful. Overall a great place to stay in Te Anau.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews