We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$63
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Agoda.com
US$53
View deal
PricelineUS$76
Hotels.comUS$63
TravelocityUS$63
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
264
116
26
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
264
116
26
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen milford sound short walk from the lake helpful owners milford track comfortable bed electric blankets a wonderful stay quiet location home away from home comfortable stay self catering couple of nights stayed for nights living area irene motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2022

This is a newly refurbished motel. We really enjoyed all the extra touches that make the rooms comfortable and add a little personality. Instead of bad motel art, the feature wall behind the bed has a wall-sized photo of a local nature scene and the bed runner is quilted. There are several sustainable features, like the lovely wooden sign by the door that lets you ask for or decline service. We also liked the decorative notice board and the chalked wifi code sign. Most of all we appreciated the hose to rinse the dust off the car after off-road travel.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank casacollins26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene Benfell-Herron Benfell-Herron, General Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Wow what a fabulous read on you review about our Motel not too many guests pick up on those details but thank you and yes I understand about bad Motel art as even I have stayed in places whom are in beautiful area's and they have stupid art on the wall nothing about the beautiful area they are in to show guests where they are and rooms that are just a basic motel room with no personality to them like the owners don't care but I do care and the motel is what I expect it should be for the area it is in with beautiful National park all around us so thank you for noticing the details

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2022 via mobile

Clean nice and very tidy place to stay. Welcoming and friendly staff. One minute walk to lake and accommodation is very comfortable. Loved our stay

Highly recommended place to stay if visiting
Te Anau.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Aaravq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene Benfell-Herron Benfell-Herron, General Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

What a lovely review clear and to the point easy to read and says so much about our Motel especially the highly recommended place to stay is fabulous thank you for this wonderful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2022 via mobile

From the moment we spoke with Irene on the phone I knew this was going to be a great experience. She was super warm, friendly and helpful and arranged our accommodation swiftly and without incident.

When we arrived we were greeted by Irene, who showed us our rooms which were smart, tidy and well appointed. We had everything we needed and wonderful outdoor areas, in fact there was even a vege garden we could help ourselves to.

The garden is glorious and the atmosphere very friendly. We met other guests and swapped dog stories.

But the total standout was when we needed to find a place for our little dog to stay while we went to Milford Sound for the day. Irene had already given me the details of one she used but because of the time of year and my lack of organisation, there were no vacancies there. Irene proceeded to ring around other contacts and found us somewhere very suitable.

This is a wonderful motel for dog owners and non dog owners alike. It is also perfectly located a very short walk from the lake.

Very highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Skwoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene Benfell-Herron Benfell-Herron, General Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Well I couldn't have asked for a better review on the Motel and our Dog friendly parts for people whom travel with their pet dogs whom do not know that Milford Sound is in the National Park and is no a dog friendly place and could incur a large fine so paying a minder is a much smaller price for a lovely day out without worrying about you fur baby it is being well looked after.
Te Anau is a great place to stay a few days and explore the area so pleased you got to enjoy some of it but also had time to walk you fur baby around the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2022

We stayed for 3 nights at Aden Motel, in a very clean lovely studio. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom spacious and the bed very comfortable. Great location, as it is close to the lake, and quiet. The staff is friendly and they are doing a great job keeping everything nice and welcoming. We loved it so much, we wanted to stay more but they were fully booked. Highly recommended! We will sure be back. All the best, Lucia & Mark, Dunedin

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danlu93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene Benfell-Herron Benfell-Herron, General Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Lucia & Mark at least from Dunedin you can come back and explore a bit more perhaps in a different season to see how it changes in the different seasons as I love the area with a bit of snow dusted on the tops then I think its at it best.
3 Nights was amazing for us and to have guests stay longer is great you get to see and do more exploring and get some more ideas of things you might like to come back and see or do like Doubtful Sound even.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2021 via mobile

We loved our stay at Aden Motel. Irene & David are lovely genuine southerners - gems. Molly the resident pup a gorgeous distraction.
We stayed in a king studio, Spotlessly clean, everything we needed incl a well equipped kitchen for 2 with fulll oven, aircon & large TV.
The Aden is perfectly located, a short stroll to the lake, 5min walk into town in a quiet street and base for 3 days exploring the area.
Wishing the Aden all the best during these difficult lockdown times. Meredith & Stu, Wellington

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MeredithC398
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene Benfell-Herron Benfell-Herron, General Manager at Aden Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2022

Meredith & Stu thanks for a lovely review it great reading and great you as well stayed 3 days and got to explore the town and area and the Motel suited you perfectly. I often smile when people ask for a quiet room as you said it all its a quiet street in a very quiet town at the moment so no problems there. Once things come right and the motel starts to make money again we look forward to some more upgrading and decorating of some more rooms as we got over half way before Covid came and stopped us but one day it will be finished the way I'd like it to be in all rooms with Air Con and Large TV but its ok for now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews