We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
171
101
25
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
101
25
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cupcakes on arrival the kitchen full oven milford sound travel advice room was clean short walk from the lake nice size town centre studio unit stay there again stayed here for nights cooking facilities night's sleep new zealand electric blankets
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base for Milford Sound and Te Anau walks. The location is great and its just 2 mins walk to the lake. The city centre with restaurants and supermarket is also at walking distance. The room was clean, comfortable and colourful. The kitchen area had everything you would need for a quick meal and was really useful. The place was quiet with car parking right outside your room's door!

Room Tip: Refer pictures on the motel website
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SuitcaseSagas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Quaint. Clean, tidy. Happy to recommend. Very comfortable and amazing value for price. Good to be able to cook for ourselves. Helpful owner booked our trip to glow worms for us. Love the radiators they give all around warmth.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoanneJ1371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We loved the relaxed, friendly welcome here, as well as the excellent orientation to the attractive town and helpful dinner recommendations. We also appreciated the management's eco-friendly philosophy. The laundromat came in handy. The short walk to the lake (a block away) was enjoyable. This motel may look rather ordinary from the street, but we found our unit to be neat, quiet, and—with a two-night stay—perfectly suited for our Milford Sound outing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tealquail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

A nice spacious comfortable apartment with separate bedroom. Stayed here for 4 nights in late February and we were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff. It was not cheap but I guess that the relatively high price is understandable given the location and the fact that all accommodation in Te Anau seemed to be completely booked up.
Te Anau is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Arriving at the motel, it looked like any ordinary one to me. However, I know it is rated highly in TripAdvisor so I ignored my first impression. And right I was. From the reception alone, service was so good. The lady (I forgot to take her name) was very nice to us and took time to let us know of things to do in Te Anau. And then came the room. Wow! Here is the summary:

Pros:
-Very clean room. Carpet was clean and so was the kitchen and toilet.
-We loved the room they gave us (Room 7), cozy and comfortable. It's like staying in a house.
-You've got all the stuff you need in the room. Nice dining table and chairs, kitchen complete with electric stove and oven and microwave, all cookwares you need, heater for the room and even the toilet. Lots of windows which makes the room bright.
-Laundry is available in the common area
-Price is cheaper compared to other motels in the area so pretty much a value for money

Cons:
-There is no view from the room since it is facing the street and the motels across the street but we didn't mind. The lake is just a short stroll away (via the pathway across the street) or you can simply do a 5-minute drive and park near the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DParreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews