We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$234
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$255
Fully refundable before Wed, 5 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$230
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Garry S

Short visit to Te Anau

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2024via mobile
Very well appointed hotel. All that you would expect from a 4 star hotel if somewhat dated decor. Great breakfast buffet included in the price and restaurant on site. We booked our trips to Doubtful and Milford Sounds trips through the hotel and found the reception staff extremely helpful. Plenty of parking on site and location right in the middle of town.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review
Responded 22 Mar 2024
Hi Garry

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will of course pass your comments on to our team.

Best Regards
Glen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.2 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free parking
0.6 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.5 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.2 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
0.4 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.3 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.9 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (842)
Filter reviews
842 results
Traveller rating
201
343
216
57
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
343
216
57
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound central location two double beds buffet breakfast room was large the main street centre of town new zealand an upgrade one night stay free wifi south island stayed nights lake distinction te tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 842 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Our stay here was just about okay.
We were denied access into our room until later in the day as it hadn't been cleaned.
You really need to install a lift for hotel guests to make access easier for first floor rooms.
First impressions count, so it was sad to see the most miserable member of staff on duty when we arrived for breakfast, and barking instructions where we should sit.
The layout of breakfast food and drinks needs a rethink. Why put the coffee machine in a tight crowded corner where access is difficult?

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi LondonFozzy

I am truly sorry about your experience however it was not at our hotel.
We have three lifts, two of these are visible from the reception desk.
Also our coffee machines are central allowing access from both sides.

If it is possible to remove your comment this would be greatly appreciated.

Best Regards
Glne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

One of two hotels in the country to treat tourists drivers as second rate clients .
Uneducated at service providers.
Staff generally exceed expectations unlike their general manager.
Good location unfortunately communication and customer satisfaction not their forte

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tour-Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

The check in staff were very curt instead of the usual approcah where they explain the amenities. The one really nice feature was the fireplace in the upstairs bar. They host a lot of buses of tourists. There are nicer places to stay for this amount of money.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank khbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2024

Hi khbeard

Thank you for your feedback. I will pass this on to our team.
Best Regards
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Spacious rooms, excellent location - but the hotel needs a complete refurbishment! Furnishings and decor very tired indeed. No air conditioning.
Breakfast buffet fine if you can avoid the numerous coach tours.
Bailies bistro bar food good.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Hi NorthernCrispy
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
I will of course pass this on to our team.
Best Regards
Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to go to the gloworm tour and for that purpose it was convenient. Check in was easy and staff nice. Room was dated with old, gold bedspreads that I cannot imagine how old they are. The room and bathroom were both clean. The morning breakfast buffet had a decent amount of food to choose from. Location was good to walk one block and take the boat ride over to the gloworm tour which is a plus. You can also easily walk around the lake and town for shopping and restaurants so the location is good.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jewlztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews