We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$388
Breakfast included
Expedia.com
$402
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$345
Fully refundable before Wed, 6 Mar
Breakfast included
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
200
341
213
56
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
200
341
213
56
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound central location two double beds buffet breakfast room was large the main street centre of town new zealand an upgrade one night stay free wifi south island stayed nights lake distinction te tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

We booked a superior room however on arrival we were pleased to be upgraded to a delux room. This was a very good sized room. It has coffee and tea making facilities, chairs to relax in, good shower / bath, comfy beds and plenty of electric points. The location is excellent, in the centre of town, easy access to restaurants and the lake. Check in and check out were quick and efficient. Quiet area at night. Only challenge was that the rooms got quite warm and the windows only opened a little, however the supplied fan helped. While some of the areas may be a little dates this did not impact on our stay. Overall a very good hotel.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank funq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin D'Souza, General Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conducive to your needs and found your room spacious. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Hotel is In good location right in centre of Te Anau. Notwithstanding the location it is quiet and joy a firm mattress for first time in NZ. Good jumping off point for visits to Doubtful Sound
Such a shame that the overall appearance and demeanour is tired, urgently needs refurb throughout. Only ate breakfasts there food very basic and poor quality but in fairness relatively cheap

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnrY2314OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Be advised that there is no air conditioning so if your are attending during hot weather, be prepared for two windows that only open a small amount and a fan to move the hot air. Amazingly, the office downstairs is air conditioned. The rating was for hot weather times. The room was average otherwise.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank 72,905
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

We stayed there for just 1 night but were very impressed by the location and the standard of the hotel.The room was large and comfortable and very clean.It is a short walk to the lake where the views are beautiful.Both dinner and breakfast were very good.The staff were pleasant and made us feel welcome.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank santpedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conducive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020

This is a spacious, clean hotel which . despite coach parties, is very quiet. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the staff very welcoming and helpful. Its central location meant we could sample other restaurants easily and it was one minute's walk to the lake. Plenty of car parking space.

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank salut70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conducive to your needs and your room spacious. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews