We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$234
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$234
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
$225
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Joanne F
Melbourne, Australia
Great location
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2020via mobile
We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a deluxe room with 2 beds. We have 2 kids aged 10 and 8 and there was plenty of space. Easy free parking onsite. Excellent location right off the Main Street. Very friendly staff.
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$359
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $344
  • Expedia.com
    $359
0.5 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.4 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.4 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Trip.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.8 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$275
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.6 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $70
1.2 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.9 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $86
  • eDreams
    $105
0.5 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free parking
Booking.com
$288
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $240
  • Expedia.com
    $256
1.2 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.8 km from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
840 results
Traveller rating
201
342
215
57
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
342
215
57
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound central location two double beds buffet breakfast room was large the main street centre of town new zealand an upgrade one night stay free wifi south island stayed nights lake distinction te tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 840 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

Situated on the main street close to the lake and shops. Handy for parking.
The rooms are well presented.
The restaurant offers a fantastic buffet meal.
The only down side was the decor is a bit dated and needs an upgrade.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChristopherC911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conducive to your needs and enjoyed your meal in Hilights Restaurant. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

I had dinner here with a friend before heading off the next day to hike the Kepler Track. The hotel is in the Main Street just back from the lake. Everywhere is walking distance in Te Anau. The hotel has a cafe with a great menu featuring lots of local food and wines. We both had and loved the lamb shanks and enjoyed a nice red! Service was great too. It would be hard to go wrong here.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NP3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your meal in Bailiez Restaurant and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019

The location was perfect in the centre of town easy walking distance to restaurants with a supermarket across the road. We were upgraded from a superior room to a deluxe suite, room was large, the bathroom was fully renovated with a large spa, there is limited channels to watch on tv and I think the bed spreads need to go in favour of doonas as it gives the room a more modern feel. Overall the room was spotless and I would stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayleneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conducive to your needs and your room spacious and spotless. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019

We were upgraded from a superior to deluxe room, which was spacious but the decor is a little tired, don't know what we gained from the upgrade! The hotel has free WiFi and car parking. It is well placed in the town close the the shops, restaurants and lake. It appears to be used by lots of larger parties. We had to call reception after 11pm one night as the room above appeared to be having a very loud party, many loud voices all talking at once. The complaint was dealt with quickly and the noise subsided. We ate in the attached bar one evening. I had the venison casserole which was delicious, and the staff there gave good friendly service.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bean1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found our central location conducive to your needs and your room spacious. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2019

Travelling around NZ n all sorts of accomodation booked the Luxmore to live it up for a nights. Before I leave the room I read a notice that the "chain of hotels are saving the planet" by giving me the option of requesting my room is not made up. We have come to the hotel for two nights and wish to have some one else make up the beds for a change. Had dinner in the restauranrs and while the prank starter gave us joy and hope of better things to come this was not a reality. My steak at 34 dollars was so toughI could not cut it. My wife's lamb, NZ signature dish, was so tough she left it behind. All very well and when we mentioned our disappointment we were offered a scoop of ice cream on the house. Rather than offering meat at over 32 dollars a plate I suggest they simply offer the ice cream. However, I dod not take up there offer of a free scoop of ice cream but assume as it was made by an external factory it should be okay.

Room tip: Rooms are good but the food is deplorable and overpriced
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaragU3326WO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews