We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$70
View deal
Booking.com
US$70
View deal
Agoda.com
US$67
View deal
Hotels.comUS$70
PricelineUS$73
TravelocityUS$70
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
25
56
50
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
56
50
13
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

Booked a couple of months prior requesting room with parking right outside. Arrived to find allocated room down path with parking out front near road. Asked if there was an alternative room, sent to another one also without parking outside that wasn't even made up for guests. Young girl.on reception advised no other rooms available and fully booked following night as well. The room we were allocated was okay, it was a good size and had the usual amenities albeit it felt and smelt damp. Decided we would stay just the one night instead of two. Phoned reception to cancel next night and got a different person who somehow changed our second night room so we agreed to stay. The second.room was larger again with a bath as well. It didn't feel as damp as the previous one. Only negative was the black hairs in the bath which weren't ours. The rooms have had an update and some were closed still being done. It was the little bits that appeared to.have been overlooked that let it down somewhat like the cracked bathroom window and chipped vanity. A plus is the location which is walking distance to town and.the lake.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

The Village Inn looks to have been built 20 odd years ago and not updated since. The rooms are of reasonable size but a bit gloomy. there is not much ventilation in the rooms without leaving windows open and there is no extractor fan in the bathroom so everything gets a bit damp. Breakfast was ok value and tasty but cold. overall, ok on a budget but not great.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 903tomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason Lu, Other at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We definitely understand your comments! We are actually in the middle of renovations during our low season here in Te Anau.
Thank you for your comments, these have been noted.

We trust the remainder of your time in Te Anau was good. All the best and safe travels!

-Renae

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Receptionist was nice to listen to us about the condition of the room but she was helpless to provide a solution. Room filled with smell of mold same with the linen. And it felt damp inside. Bathroom floor stained and dirty. used toilet paper roll in the bathroom. We could not be relocated to a clean room because it was fully booked. Had to step out in in the middle of the afternoon to try to find another place to stay. No refund provided by management because according to them it's our opinion that the room had those conditions and it's our fault that no other rooms are available. Save yourself a bad experience of this beautiful part of the South Island and stay at a different place.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank arqpipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillageInnTeAnau, Hotel Receptionist at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do appreciate it. We are terribly sorry that you had such a negative experience during your stay here and although I personally am unaware of this particular situation (other staff would have been on shift) but all I can do is offer my sincerest apologies.

I will pass this review onto management and housekeeping as well. I trust the remainder of your time in and around Te Anau was a good one.

All the best,

Renae Parry
The Village Inn Hotel, Te Anau
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

The first impression was that of a run-down place. When we got to our room, we checked the beds first thing. The sheets had not been ironed and did not look or smell fresh. Same for the pillow cases. When we complained at reception, the lady went to our room with us and found everything as we had said. She certainly knew what we were talking about. Then we were given another room.
Here the linen and the sheets were fresh, but the general situation was the same. There was no cover for the duvet. So what separated you from the parts of the bedding that all guests might have touched etc. was a simple sheet. And the pillowcases had been wrapped in the dark coloured bedspread that just anybody can have handled. This indicates a poor standard of hygiene.
The furniture is low cost mass production with no claims to style. There are traces of use that are difficult to overlook. The bathroom is in a worse condition though basically clean.
Breakfast was OK with lousy coffee.
We did not like a minute in this motel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank otmarg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillageInnTeAnau, Receptionist at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Hello

I have to apologise, for you having had such a bad experience staying at our hotel. I have shown our head housemaid your comments as well as our manager. They are having a meeting to discuss and sort out this problem. They will definitely be making changes as to how beds will be made in the future.

Again, i can only offer you my sincere apologies

Thank you

Kind Regards

Sylvia Prentice

Receptionist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

It's a bit dated basic hotel with large, clean rooms and a friendly staff. It's a good base for Milford Sound. It's located close to a nice lakefront and town center, where there are good places to eat.

Room tip: All of the rooms are fairly equal.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAjulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVillageInnTeAnau, Hotel Receptionist at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate it a lot. We are pleased your stay with us and your time in Te Anau was pleasant.

All the best,

Renae Parry
Receptionist
The Village Inn Hotel, Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews