We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$149
Priceline
$181
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$130
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tom J
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reasonable value but a bit run down
Review of The Village Inn
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2020via mobile
The Village Inn looks to have been built 20 odd years ago and not updated since. The rooms are of reasonable size but a bit gloomy. there is not much ventilation in the rooms without leaving windows open and there is no extractor fan in the bathroom so everything gets a bit damp. Breakfast was ok value and tasty but cold. overall, ok on a budget but not great.
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$331
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $334
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Hotels.com
    $178
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Expedia.com
    $212
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.2 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $222
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
$128
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $141
0.9 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Vio.com
    $217
  • travelup.com
    $268
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $70
1.0 km from The Village Inn
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$265
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $239
  • Expedia.com
    $250
1.2 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $114
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
26
57
51
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
57
51
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated good sized rooms milford track stayed two nights comfortable stay town centre laundry facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2020

Receptionist was nice to listen to us about the condition of the room but she was helpless to provide a solution. Room filled with smell of mold same with the linen. And it felt damp inside. Bathroom floor stained and dirty. used toilet paper roll in the bathroom. We could not be relocated to a clean room because it was fully booked. Had to step out in in the middle of the afternoon to try to find another place to stay. No refund provided by management because according to them it's our opinion that the room had those conditions and it's our fault that no other rooms are available. Save yourself a bad experience of this beautiful part of the South Island and stay at a different place.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank arqpipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheVillageInnTeAnau, Hotel Receptionist at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2020

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We do appreciate it. We are terribly sorry that you had such a negative experience during your stay here and although I personally am unaware of this particular situation (other staff would have been on shift) but all I can do is offer my sincerest apologies.

I will pass this review onto management and housekeeping as well. I trust the remainder of your time in and around Te Anau was a good one.

All the best,

Renae Parry
The Village Inn Hotel, Te Anau
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019 via mobile

The first impression was that of a run-down place. When we got to our room, we checked the beds first thing. The sheets had not been ironed and did not look or smell fresh. Same for the pillow cases. When we complained at reception, the lady went to our room with us and found everything as we had said. She certainly knew what we were talking about. Then we were given another room.
Here the linen and the sheets were fresh, but the general situation was the same. There was no cover for the duvet. So what separated you from the parts of the bedding that all guests might have touched etc. was a simple sheet. And the pillowcases had been wrapped in the dark coloured bedspread that just anybody can have handled. This indicates a poor standard of hygiene.
The furniture is low cost mass production with no claims to style. There are traces of use that are difficult to overlook. The bathroom is in a worse condition though basically clean.
Breakfast was OK with lousy coffee.
We did not like a minute in this motel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank otmarg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheVillageInnTeAnau, Receptionist at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2019

Hello

I have to apologise, for you having had such a bad experience staying at our hotel. I have shown our head housemaid your comments as well as our manager. They are having a meeting to discuss and sort out this problem. They will definitely be making changes as to how beds will be made in the future.

Again, i can only offer you my sincere apologies

Thank you

Kind Regards

Sylvia Prentice

Receptionist


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2019

It's a bit dated basic hotel with large, clean rooms and a friendly staff. It's a good base for Milford Sound. It's located close to a nice lakefront and town center, where there are good places to eat.

Room tip: All of the rooms are fairly equal.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAjulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TheVillageInnTeAnau, Hotel Receptionist at The Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate it a lot. We are pleased your stay with us and your time in Te Anau was pleasant.

All the best,

Renae Parry
Receptionist
The Village Inn Hotel, Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019

Spacious rooms, although a bit dark. Stayed there after visiting Milford Sound, on the way to Dunedin back in February 2017. Nothing fancy, just a very basic hotel or, rather, a motel, ok if you want to stay for a night or two but wouldn't recommend it for longer stays.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter_K-London-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2019

I was asked by an older lady to book her in at a nice Hotel in Te Anau for one night during first week in January, before heading off early next morning.
I wrongly chose to book with "Wotif". However $190 was deducted from my visa.
Upon arrival I was told the account was $161.50. (I hadn't realized Wotif took $28.50)
After getting over that, I asked about an evening meal as the time was now 7pm. I was told the kitchen was closed for maintenance and there was no cooked breakfast either.
I only live round the corner from what used to be a very nice Hotel. But to close the kitchen at the height of the tourist season without telling the customer isn't very good.
Sadly this lady has left Te Anau with me being very embarrassed. This Hotel used to be very well run, I now understand it is under new Asian ownership. I am in the Tourist Industry and will be going elsewhere next time. After all this establishment is still listed as a Hotel.

Room tip: Deal direct with Hotel
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Te-Anau-Driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews