We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$162
Priceline
$181
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$130
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ascval
Melbourne, Australia
Avoid no matter how desparate you are!
Review of The Village Inn
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2018
Have to agree - sleep in your car before staying here Not bad enough it was dirty - gum on chair, torn curtains, heater in bathroom not working and shower only warm, flaking ceiling of who knows what...grubby little hole in the wall where Europeans are stuck out the back with no car access. No facilities to cook and the restaurant is closed...thanks for telling us after check in. Nowhere to sit outside - one picnic table on wheels. This is an embarrassment to Te Anau accommodation and we booked elsewhere next day.
Date of stay: March 2018
Room Tip: Does not exist - please go elsewhere to avoid disappointment
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$359
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $344
  • Expedia.com
    $360
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Trip.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.2 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$275
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.9 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $70
1.0 km from The Village Inn
Free parking
Booking.com
$288
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $241
  • Hotels.com
    $263
1.2 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $225
  • Algotels
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
26
57
51
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
57
51
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated good sized rooms milford track stayed two nights comfortable stay town centre laundry facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Rooms are clean and well maintained. Our room didn't have a microwave so that made things a little more irksome to make simple meals but other than that the bed was a queen size double and not to hard.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robspijkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Our room was lovely and spacious with clean and comfy beds. Although it was very clean, the bathroom had a musty smell. The location is great for shops and fast food, etc. A bit dated but great for a short stay.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nanterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We spent one night at the Village Inn as we were visiting relatives in Te Anau. The staff at reception were friendly and the room was comfy and clean. A bit dated yes, however this didn't bother us and we were happy with the location and the price we paid for the room.
If you're after a clean & fairly cheap place, this is your stop.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samkuzmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We arrived off the street afterseeing they had a vacancy online. Receptionist barly spoke english. Asked us what the price of the room was....should have rang alarm bells, but we were so tired after driving all day. Told us where our room was and left us to it. The room itself smelt like something out of a tv motel homicide thriller. There were stains all over the carpet, recent coffee cups stains on furniture and bedside cabinets, the curtains were ripped and discoloured. We have no words to describe the bathroom. We left the room and went back to reception instantly. We were offered an alternative room which was clean, but dated, two light bulbs not working, no bathroom fan so bathroom moisture spread into the main room, the tv flickered, the internet was the worst we have experienced and you felt like you were staying in a 1970's Route 66 middle of the desert, I have no other option kind of hotel. To cap it all after explaining how bad the first room was, the receptionist said she WAS AWARE and SHOULD NOT and WOULD NOT be renting that room out, however, no more than 15 minutes after arriving in our alternative room ...that first room HAD BEEN LET....unless you are part of an asian bus tour group, stay elewhere.

Room tip: Don't stay here
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Don't think I would like to stay too long , it was quite dated had a funny smell in the room but the bed was OK the room was clean the breakfast was quite basic , but I will say the staff were excellent very helpful and the bar was quite nice

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller020953
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews