We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
24
52
45
13
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
52
45
13
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated kitchenette facilities short stay milford sound town lake unit internet ranch
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018

Our room was lovely and spacious with clean and comfy beds. Although it was very clean, the bathroom had a musty smell. The location is great for shops and fast food, etc. A bit dated but great for a short stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Nanterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We spent one night at the Village Inn as we were visiting relatives in Te Anau. The staff at reception were friendly and the room was comfy and clean. A bit dated yes, however this didn't bother us and we were happy with the location and the price we paid for the room.
If you're after a clean & fairly cheap place, this is your stop.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We arrived off the street afterseeing they had a vacancy online. Receptionist barly spoke english. Asked us what the price of the room was....should have rang alarm bells, but we were so tired after driving all day. Told us where our room was and left us to it. The room itself smelt like something out of a tv motel homicide thriller. There were stains all over the carpet, recent coffee cups stains on furniture and bedside cabinets, the curtains were ripped and discoloured. We have no words to describe the bathroom. We left the room and went back to reception instantly. We were offered an alternative room which was clean, but dated, two light bulbs not working, no bathroom fan so bathroom moisture spread into the main room, the tv flickered, the internet was the worst we have experienced and you felt like you were staying in a 1970's Route 66 middle of the desert, I have no other option kind of hotel. To cap it all after explaining how bad the first room was, the receptionist said she WAS AWARE and SHOULD NOT and WOULD NOT be renting that room out, however, no more than 15 minutes after arriving in our alternative room ...that first room HAD BEEN LET....unless you are part of an asian bus tour group, stay elewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Don't think I would like to stay too long , it was quite dated had a funny smell in the room but the bed was OK the room was clean the breakfast was quite basic , but I will say the staff were excellent very helpful and the bar was quite nice

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller020953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Paid 160 for a night here! It’s not worth any more than 85.
Bed are uncomfortable, units are extremely dated and several large lights didn’t work. The tv could only pump out a fuzzy picture and tour buses of Asians arrived constantly. The only good thing was it’s close enough to walk to town.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank travelsuitcase2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews