We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
piotrekj81
Jelenia Gora, Poland

Quiet, clean, comfortable, full recommendation !!

Review of The Village Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 May 2017
Rooms are spacious. Large desk area which includes tea/coffee making facilities. Internet working properly.

The room was very clean, pleasant and quiet. The rooms have a verandah frontage.

Had everything you needed with comfortable big comfy bed, TV, aircon/heating, own bathroom and toilet. It is very clean and comfortable. Had tea and coffee.

The heating was efficient and the room's lighting was well thought out.

The hotel is in an excellent location, walking distance to everything you need and right on the lake front with a mountain view. Located in central of that town, there are some shops, restaurants, supermarket nearby.

There is parking right at the door step of the room which is very convenient.

You will find 27 high quality pictures of the hotel in my gallery.

I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE-solo travellers, families, backpackers!
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $173
0.2 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$331
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $359
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$244
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $265
  • Agoda.com
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $168
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $269
  • Expedia.com
    $274
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.6 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.5 km from The Village Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
$46
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $50
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $78
1.0 km from The Village Inn
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.1 km from The Village Inn
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
27
57
51
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
27
57
51
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bit dated good sized rooms milford track stayed two nights comfortable stay town centre laundry facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Dated, tired, worn out, poor room keeping. In summary the owners haven't spent a cent at this hotel since the 70's. it should be in a 70's museum. Bed springs stuck out, bed covers are well beyond use by date, carpets worn, hairdryer broken, house keeping didn't empty bins or wipe surfaces. Tap leaking. Kitchenette not even stocked with cutlery (except 2 knives) or crockery. Even the glasswear and painting on the wall are original 70's tat. Outside is dated too, it's meant to be some gold mining themed village, might have been a fun idea when it was first done but lack of painting etc now just leaves it looked tired. Terrible value for money.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shellonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Rooms are of a good size, comfortable bed. Large desk area which includes tea/coffee making facilities. Internet was reasonable and included in the room rate. Breakfast not included. Bathroom was fine.

We had a small issue when we checked in as we had two rooms reserved (via a booking site) but they only had one room reserved. However, once I showed them the booking confirmation it was sorted out quite quickly.

Given the overall high prices for accommodation in New Zealand in general I would say that this place is good value for money.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

The room was spacious and air conditioned.it was clean and reasonably close to the Main Street. The Main Street is just a short walk across a park. The air conditioning was welcome as most rooms in New Zealand don't have it and seem to cater more for heat, which probably makes sense. This was very welcome as the room was quite hot.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Yarragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Owing to a booking error on our part we were left struggling to find accommodation. We called in here and they offered us their last room - an odd ground floor room surrounded by windows so it had curtains all the way round, and twin beds which were very close to the ground. It was a large room but close to the road so a bit noisy when coach loads of Chinese tourists returned for the evening, at which point the wifi dropped out! But we managed fine. Didn't use their breakfast facilities. Convenient for town but suggest you avoid room 801. There's a Subway at the end of the road for a quick solution to lunch!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChristineR513
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2017

I stayed at the Village Inn Hotel for a night with my friends and the room was clean and spacious. We had parking right at the door step of our room and that was way convenient. As it was away from the town centre but really accessible, the location was perfect for us because we preferred a quieter location. The staff was friendly. I met with a problem with billing due to my carelessness and probably that of the staff as well but the issue was resolved ultimately. I would recommend this hotel if you were to stay in Te Anau and we did just that before we embarked on some tramping action at the Kepler Track.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stephie8697
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews