We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Doubtful Sound
from US$175.20
More Info
from US$186.50
More Info
from US$241.70
More Info
from US$200.60
More Info
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
1,644
246
66
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,644
246
66
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight cruise fiordland expeditions wilmot pass real journeys across lake manapouri deep cove charters tasman sea power station catfish southern secret tutoko ii fresh crayfish day trip new zealand blue cod fur seals west arm
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We took the Doubtful Sound cruise on a rainy day, and even with the nonstop downpour, the views were beautiful. The waterfalls were very impressive because of the rain and the park was full of beauty. This is a Must-Do activity if you are in the South.

Date of experience: May 2018
4  Thank Chelsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Real journeys took us on an amazing experience into this unbelievable part of NZ and the world. The guides were knowledgeable and their quirky NZ humour was fun. This is a place not to be overlooked when travelling here. There is a really good reason why Doubtful Sound is known as Patea ‘The place of Silence’ Do yourself a favour and put it on your bucketlist.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank sportyjo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We had a fabulous cruise in Doubtful Sound. The scenary is fabulous. There is so much to look at. The entire Real Journeys experience was well organized and professional from pick up at our hotel in Te Anau, to drop off back at our hotel. It was all well thought out and planned. We loved the commentary on the boat especially the part when they turn the boat motors off, and ask everyone to be quiet so the remote silence of Doubtful Sound can be appreciated. The experience was well worth the entire day!

Date of experience: June 2018
5  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was one of the most breathtaking places on Earth! I was a little concerned about the amount of time, just to get to the Sound, but it was worth every kilometer traveled! Every turn provided a new, stunning vista. Breathtaking!

Date of experience: June 2018
4  Thank BrewSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Doubtful Sound is beautiful and a great alternative to its bigger, more crowded cousin Milford Sound. We kayaked in the rain, hiked to waterfalls and by night we got to see the thousand worm glow outside of a cave. Check it out, enjoy the views and make sure you don't get eaten by sandflies... :D

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank jackiesphotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews