We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Doubtful Sound
from US$175.20
More Info
from US$186.50
More Info
from US$241.70
More Info
from US$200.60
More Info
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveller rating
1,644
246
66
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,644
246
66
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight cruise fiordland expeditions wilmot pass real journeys across lake manapouri deep cove charters tasman sea power station catfish southern secret tutoko ii fresh crayfish day trip new zealand blue cod fur seals west arm
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We were staying in Te Anau prior to a cruise on Milford Sound and we passed the afternoon on the day before doing the Real Journeys boat trip to the Glow Worm Caves (good fun and interesting). On the boat trip we were chatting to a couple who said that they had recently done a day trip to Doubtful Sound. I was really surprised - I did not know that you could do a day trip there, as our Guidbook said there was no road to it and it required an overnight trip. Once we'd visited the Caves, I booked for Doubtful Sound with Real Journeys and we stayed an extra night in Te Anau. No way were we going to miss going to doubtful sound being so close.

You really do need to see this place if you are in the area. It's about an hour boat trip across Lake Manapouri, then a road trip through the mountains (the road is not connected to the road network, but was built for power station construction traffic), then a cruise along Doubtful Sound. We were a bit unlucky with the weather and it rained much of the day, but nothing can spoil the majesty of this fjord. The guide on board the boat was very knowledgeable, but thankfully did not talk all of the time. He did an initial talk on th Sound and then just let the fjord speak for itself and answered any questions. You cruise along the fjord and out into the Tasmin sea - we saw seals and a few penguins. Cook named it Doubtful Sound as he was doubtful he would get out, if he went in. There's plenty of deck space to see all the vistas from and plenty of indoor seating if you want a rest. Complimentary tea/coffee served at all times and a small bar to buy snacks etc. Toilets on board.

Overall a fine trip and especially so as we did not think we could do it as a day trip. If you are in the area, then do both Doubtful and Milford Sound - you never know, you might never come back.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Did the overnight Real Journeys boat trip on Doubtfull Sound. Very impressed with the staff's professionalism and the overall set up. Not cheap but this has now been added to my world travel must dos. Very weather dependant but we had a sunset and a sunrise over two days when the weather forecast had indicated nothing but showers.
Having visited both Milford and Doubtfull; both have their merits. The road into Milford is a must do.
For Doubtfull overnight cruise it is best to overnight locally both the night before and the night after. The drive to Invercargill is well worth a full day if the sun is shining.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Took an overnight cruise on Doubtful sound. It was great! Excellent food and service. Kayaking and swimming in the cold waters of the sound were available.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Gaynor67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed at the Kiwi campsite in Te Anau and were picked up from the campsite by coach. It is not possible to get to Doubtful Sound by road. We were picked up from our camp site for a 30 minute coach trip to Lake Manapouri. We then boarded a boat for the hour long trip over the Lake to get to West Point. From here we had an hour’s coach ride over the Willmott Pass which was the most expensive road to be built in NZ and is not connected to the National road system. It was quite dramatic as we went through the rainforest as we steadily climbed up the mountain And then a steady drive down the other side. Coach driver very droll with comments such as “ Don’t worry folks the brakes are regularly maintained on this coach - once a year and the next check is due tomorrow”. Arrived at Doubtful Sound and boarded The Patea Explorer ship for a spectacular cruise along the Sound ( technically a Fjord but they decided not to rename it but to call the whole area Fiordland). We went right out to the Tasman Sea when things got a little choppy. Also ventured into some of the inlets and as well as the chance to drink glacial water from a small waterfall the captain also turned off the engines for a few minutes for The Sound of Silence. It was truly magical. The only downside to the trip was that we didn’t see the seals and dolphins that we expected. Strangely there were also few birds. A great day out though.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank BBTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Just got back from a month in New Zealand which was amazing accept for our trip on the MV Southern Secret,firstly my wife who has mobility issues was met with a very difficult passage way down a washed away path to the boat just managed to get her onboard.First meal was very megure 10 slices of ham for 12 guests they said they had miscalculated and there was nothing else ,so time to retire to bed which was very uncomfortable due to the bedding being damp.Had rung the day before as requested to tell them we did not eat fish well we spent 4 hours fishing for our super and you guessed it nearly all fish just a mouthful of venison stew.Considering the cost of this outing both my wife and me thought it was very poor value for money and was the worst aspect of a wonderful trip to New Zealand.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Tonylyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews