We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Doubtful Sound
from US$174.85
More Info
from US$186.08
More Info
from US$241.13
More Info
from US$200.13
More Info
Reviews (2,044)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
1,696
253
69
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,696
253
69
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight cruise fiordland expeditions wilmot pass across lake manapouri real journeys deep cove charters tasman sea power station lobster southern secret day trip new zealand tutoko ii blue cod fur seals west arm bus ride
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018

We are a not very agile older couple so this lovely, sedate tour was perfect. Fiordland has been in drought so the waterfalls were sadly not very spectacular but even so, the scenery is wonderful. The picnic lunch box was enjoyable as well.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

This trip, with an overnight stay on the Fiordland Navigator, was a holiday highlight. The organisation was top class, the food was good, the activities were varied and interesting. The staff were enthusiastic and pleasant and Doubtful Sound was spectacular. Worth every penny (cent?) .

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank CJHChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

A beautiful area. We did an overnight cruise from Te Anau. It was lovely. The food was great. We also did a Kayak from the boat. Put on insect repellent!!! The Sand Flies around shore are hungry.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank got2bebiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Wet day to go to Doubtful Sound. The staff at Go Orange was absolutely great. The information that we received was just enough to understand what happens in this region. The waterfalls were everywhere. A great,day was had by all onboard our cruise.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Couldn't be happier that I choose to spend my 50th birthday doing an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound. Fiordland Cruises included everything in the price - from our pickup at our hotel at Te Anau at 9:00am in the morning to drop off at 12:30pm ish the following day - it was all well organised and we had the best trip. Doubtful Sound is stunning and extra special because there's only a few people enjoying it at one time so you feel like you the "place" to yourself. The Sourthern Secret was spotlessly clean, well maintained and amazingly spacious. During our time on the boat we went kayaking, caught fish for our dinner, had huge wild dolphins swimming alongside the boat, saw a fur seal and even had the skipper play lallabies on the piano just before bed. The staff were experienced, attentive and fun. The food was delicous and lunch even included freshly caught lobster! It was BYO which meant you could bring your favourite bottle. The group was small so we bonded with the other guests quickly and had such a laugh. I highly recommend this overnight trip as you get to see all the unspoilt magic of Doubtful Sound as the sun sets, the early morning mists roll in and the light changes on the water and mountains. We feel so lucky to have had this unforgetable experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Awaywego2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews