We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Doubtful Sound
from US$174.85
More Info
from US$186.08
More Info
from US$241.13
More Info
from US$200.13
More Info
Reviews (2,044)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
1,696
253
69
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,696
253
69
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight cruise fiordland expeditions wilmot pass across lake manapouri real journeys deep cove charters tasman sea power station lobster southern secret day trip new zealand tutoko ii blue cod fur seals west arm bus ride
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

This was my birthday present to myself - I went with Real Journeys and it was expensive but totally worth it. Lake Manapouri, the power station, Wilmott Pass, Deep Cove and then all the way up to the Tasman and down Crooked Arm and Hall Arm - not a cloud in the sky, mesmerisingly beautiful.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank emah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Without a doubt one of the most beautiful and peaceful places I have ever visited. The mountains, the water, the wildlife- amazing!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank S4457MEsuzannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We did the Real Journey overnight cruise in December. It was very well organised, the ship was small and intimate, rooms were spacious, clean and beds very comfortable. Exceeded my expectations. Humming of engine is obvious but not disturbing. Meals are good but food does run out despite being a buffet. Late comers generally miss out and they don't sell food on board. As for animals, we never saw a seal or whale or dolphin. We enjoyed the views and the quiet and peace. yes the engine had to be shut down for you to enjoy the sound of silence.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank ChinNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We booked our trip with Real Journeys who picked us up from our hotel in Te Anau to begin a full day of a variety of interconnecting road and boat trips with stunning scenery all along the way. The operation is run very smoothly with welcoming friendly staff. You can pre order the generous lunch box or take your own with free tea and coffee on the boats. Doubtful Sound is worth taking the full day to visit. As we edged closer to the Tasman Sea we saw fur seals basking in the sun and a lone dolphin swimming beside us. The rainfall is high in this area which makes everything lush and green - take a raincoat just in case. Take a warm jacket as it gets windy if you’re outside st the front of the boat. In peak summer tourist season book in advance. It’s an early start but worth it!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank NormaG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to have a clear, sunny day, most unusual for a region that receives 9 metres of per year. Fine days are rare. The scenery is breathtaking. This is a not to be missed destination for any visitor to the land of the long white cloud.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank B3338FOelizabethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews