We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Doubtful Sound
from US$145.20
More Info
from US$167.08
More Info
from US$733.38
More Info
from US$6,035.46
More Info
Reviews (2,299)
Filter reviews
2,299 results
Traveller rating
1,913
279
79
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,913
279
79
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight cruise wilmot pass fiordland expeditions across lake manapouri real journeys deep cove charters tasman sea power station day trip lobster new zealand blue cod fur seals southern secret bus ride west arm seal colony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 2,299 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We did the overnight cruise from Te Anau. Brilliand bus drivers and skippers who were willing to point out many areas of interest. Our weather was drizzle, rain and more drizzle with snow overnight, yet that made the experience even better with lots of waterfalls and cloud covered mountains. The food on board was brilliant and sleep quality excellent. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

A wonderful experience, even in cooler or cloudy weather. The remoteness and wildness of this place is something else! Stunningly beautiful and the joy of feeling almost at one with the world (well as one as you can be with a boatload of people enjoying the same thing) is incredible. The bus driver we had was both entertaining and informative, sharing his knowledge on the area. A long day but very worth it.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 963Marika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The trip was 7 hours long. It was a great trip to see and feel pristine nature of New Zealand. We had both sunny and overcast weather in one day which was a real bliss to us.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Serajis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We did the one day trip to doubtful which worked really well. The ride across beautiful lake manapouri was a good start and the bus ride to doubtful was very interesting. The driver was entertaining with his commentary and took detours and stopped for photo opportunities and punted or wild life. He doubled as cruise guide as well and did a great job. So helpful and gave interesting commentary.
The cruise took 3 hrs and covered the full length of the sound out to the Tasman Sea. We saw fiordland penguins on the little island at the mouth of the sound.
The scenery was stunningly good, grander and more varied than Milford sound and there were much fewer people in doubtful sound.
The whole trip took 7 hrs.....time very well spent

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Having booked only a couple of days in Fiordland, we weren't sure which of the Fiords to see - Milford or Doubtful. In the end we decided to do both. They are very different in character. Doubtful Sound almost defies description. It's so remote (an hour's trip across a lake and an hour's bus ride just to get there) that you get a very distinct reminder of how small and inconsequential humans really are. The geological evidence of eons of time surrounds you in the towering, bush-covered cliffs and the glacial valleys. We were taken right out to the Tasman Sea and saw the entrance to the Fiord just as Cook saw it hundreds of years ago.
We sailed up one of the offshoots of the lake, Crooked Arm, and at one point turned off the engines and the generator on the boat and for ten minutes all we could hear was the awesome silence, the bird life and our own wondering thoughts.
This is a long day. I'd say unsuitable for anyone with very young children--they won't appreciate the scenery and there are no facilities at all. This is a very, very wild place.
Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank LadyMol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews