We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Doubtful Sound
from US$174.85
More Info
from US$186.08
More Info
from US$241.13
More Info
from US$200.13
More Info
Reviews (2,044)
Filter reviews
2,044 results
Traveller rating
1,696
253
69
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,696
253
69
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overnight cruise fiordland expeditions wilmot pass across lake manapouri real journeys deep cove charters tasman sea power station lobster southern secret day trip new zealand tutoko ii blue cod fur seals west arm bus ride
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 2,044 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Aboard the Cruise Ship Azamara Journey we were fortunate enough yesterday to have the rare opportunity of visiting both Doubtful and Milford (see separate review) Sounds.

Both are very pleasing on the eye - enhanced even more if the sun is shining as was the case with Milford - and equally spectacular. It is certainly one part of New Zealand which all visitors (local & foreign alike) should make the effort to see. Believe me, they won't be disappointed!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We were blessed with a perfect day, cloudless skies, beautiful dawn to dusk sunshine and no wind. This is the exception not the rule! It's a very long day trip, but if the weather is good, you can enjoy beautiful views all day.

Frankly we would have found it a very tedious trip if it had been raining. The vistas would have been poor and you would find yourself stuck on a boat and bus with nothing to see and do for many hours.

Although Doubtful Sound is a lovely place, we felt it was generally a bit over rated. It is an expensive day out, which is partly understandable given the logistics of boats and coaches and staff. But is it worth it? In our view only if the weather is good. It rains 3 out of 4 days on average and in 2016 experienced 11 metres of rain. Advice, think carefully about pros and cons and go prepared for any weather, especially remember to take your DEET spray. Take your own lunch, lots of places you can buy food in Te Anau. The lunches provided by Real Journeys are very over priced.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

How lucky were we to experience Doubtful Sound on a balmy, sunny day, although I gather the Sound is equally beautiful in all weather conditions. The sunshine just made it more comfortable for viewing the amazing scenery.
The trip worked like clockwork with Real Tours collecting us from our hotel then driving to Lake Manapouri for the boat trip across to the Wilmot Pass. Incredible views on the journey to Doubtful Sound.
The Sound is just stunning. A 'must be seen' for anyone visiting the South Island.
Remember to order (or take with you), packed lunch.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Our trip to New Zealand was fantastic and lived up to expectations. Our highlight amongst many highlights was the overnight trip on Doubtful Sound. It was only a short drive from Te Anau to Manapouri where we checked-in and took a 50 mins ferry and 45 mins bus journey to catch our boat. An adventure in itself. The 'Fiordland Navigator' was very comfortable with ensuite loo and shower, the food was absolutely first class (top quality and plenty of it) and the crew were magnificent. Every effort was put into ensuring that the passengers enjoyed the experience. They were enthusiastic, helpful and informative about the environment which they clearly love to bits. And what a place it is. Totally unspoilt and magnificent irrespective of the weather, in fact the crew seemed to relish the wet conditions and the hundreds of waterfalls that magically appear. We were perhaps fortunate to get the best of both extremes - perfect first day and very wet second day. Milford Sound is spectacular but comparatively busy. I would recommend doing both but don't miss Doubtful Sound

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank nickw144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We took the overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound and will never regret the decision. We were lucky enough to go when the skies were clear. Although we missed out on some of the spectacular waterfalls caused by rainfall, our day and night views were magnificent. This tour is run like a well-oiled machine. The food was quite good and the crew was super friendly. We especially loved Nick, our nature guide, who did a running commentary throughout the trip. He knows a lot about a lot! We spent the vast majority of our time out on deck with him and other guests.

We made our reservations a bit late and so all that was left were the quad share accommodations. Let me describe: 2 sets of narrow, fairly hard bunkbeds and a large communal bathroom for showering. It was a kick! Like being back in college. Glad it worked out the way we did...saved us some money too!

A highlight was on the second morning when the captain entered a very quiet, calm bay, instructed us to make no noise, take no pictures, and not walk on deck while he turned off all engines and all generators. The result was 15 minutes of absolute silence except for a few birds. It was an incredibly peace-filled experience.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank breilandroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews