We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Milford Sound
from US$72.23
More Info
from US$94.12
More Info
from US$101.42
More Info
from US$130.60
More Info
Reviews (5,691)
Filter reviews
5,691 results
Traveller rating
4,539
892
216
33
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,539
892
216
33
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand mitre peak south island southern discoveries homer tunnel mirror lakes nature cruise boat trip long drive sunny day underwater observatory tasman sea real journeys bucket list on the rocks saw seals hour drive
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,189 - 1,194 of 5,691 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We were staying in Te Anau for four nights and had a rental car, but given the distance up the Milford Road (and back!) and the fact that I’d done more than enough driving around NZ already I thought I deserved a break...

Among the main operators It doesn’t make a lot of difference which boat you get for the trip [in terms of scenery] as they all do the same circuit in procession - which does detract slightly from the experience but is one of those things - and I dare say much the same applies to the main tour companies. The main variation therefore comes from the clientele and the commentary.

In the event we went for one of the smaller local operators using minibuses and making lots of stops en route, and are pleased we did because it was the professionalism of our driver that really made the day (see Fiordland Tours for detailed review).

If you are intending to visit both the Sounds then I would definitely do Milford first. Both have their appeal but Doubftul is more expansive and [because of the restricted access] much quieter, so to visit Milford afterwards might be something of an anticlimax.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Chris_and_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

I took one of the tour buses for the drive, and there were a lot of amazing views. Many photo opportunities.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Nidhi_809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We had read reviews, seen the pictures so had high expectations......our expectations were far exceeded. This is an absolute must see destination....The drive there is stated to be about 2 hours ...give yourself at least 4 hours to get there and allowing for stops to take it all in. words like breathtaking, awesome, incredible, magnificient...still dont do it justice. We took our own picnic which we were able to have on the shores surrounded by the mountains, the sea, the trees and no people.....Bliss

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank D and M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

2 hour drive from Te Anau on a good day, but well worth it. Lots of places to stop off along the way so make sure you make a day of it and don't rush. Really enjoyed the cruise from Milford Sound out to the ocean and the dolphins put on a great display along with the sea lions lazing in the sun. Loved for a change I didn't have to walk miles to see a beautiful waterfall.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Dianne2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We took a day trip from Te Anau and loved it. The morning when we left Te Anau, it was overcast and raining all along but we were very lucky..when we reached there for the cruise, the cloud cleared up and got fantastic views and were able to see even “5 sisters” which is a group of 5 water falls!..Amazing place..like no other and a must visit place in south island of New Zealand! I would recommend to visit a centre at the end of the tour which shows under water life in that area..very well done and it was included in out day tour and did not have to pay extra for that.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Kalindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews