We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
$225
Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jay N

Great accommodations for 2 adults + 2 kids

Review of Lakefront Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Mar 2024
My family of 4 just recently stayed here for 2 nights. The accommodations were great. The room was clean and felt very comfortable. Being able to open the back door to allow the fresh breeze and sit at the outdoor table was also a big plus. The location is also wonderful with only a block or two to the lake and a few more than that to the town center with ample restaurants and a grocery store. Staying here was definitely the way to go as we went to the Milford Sound, and trying to do that all in 1 day from Queenstown would have been a long day.

Overall, great place to stay. Looking back on our trip, our only regret was not staying here longer!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, next time you will
have to stay longer .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Vio.com
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.2 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.3 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$359
  • Official Site
    $395
  • Expedia.com
    $423
  • Priceline
    $359
0.1 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.5 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
Booking.com
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $265
  • Expedia.com
    $274
0.1 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $71
  • Agoda.com
    $69
0.8 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
$113
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Hotels.com
    $123
0.7 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
 Amber Court Motel, 4 Star Self Contained Motel Apartments
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $134
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Hotels.com
    $166
0.5 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.4 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.6 km from Lakefront Lodge
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveller rating
335
165
38
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
335
165
38
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound spa bath day bed view of the lake picnic tables little extras shops and restaurants within walking distance laundry room the kitchen comfortable bed milford track great place to stay new zealand day trip three nights pillows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024

We had 3 nights here on our tour of NZ. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and given lots of useful information on the town and plqces to eat. The room was comfortable and the continental breakfast was good. The motel is within easy walking distance of the town and the eateries, and we would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinlL633EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

WE are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

It's a blast from the past, a one story motor hotel (aka motel). Like the 1950s in many ways. Friendly staff, clean room, kitchenette, patio, separate bedroom. It's spacious, with a sofa and small dinner table. Lots of plugs. If you order breakfast, it's delivered through a little cabinet door. It's cook-it-youself cuisine. Right on the lake, close to restaurants and shops. A nice place. Glad we stayed there!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rossmO3285QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023

Located on the shores of Te Anau Lake and a few minutes’ walk from the CBD. The room was quite spacious with a nicely appointed lounge/dinning area and a separate bedroom. Clean and modern as I was advised that the room had just been done refurbished.
Pleasant and quick checkin with the owner providing plenty of information about what was to do and eat in the local area.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you Radarz for your kind review ,we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Our room was booked through a travel agent for us. Unfortunately we didn’t check website about the room otherwise we would have changed to a more modern hotel.
This is like stepping into your grandparents retirement village home. It is desperately in need of an update and is not “upmarket” as described on its website.
Rooms are not lake view but side street view with people and cars constantly passing your room. The door to villa has a draft comming through.
The breakfast, which maybe a 5 year old would find filling, is served through a hatch in the wall. If you want a “cooked” breakfast, it consists of eggs, which you cook yourself.
For the price of breakfast, it’s laughable. We decided to eat out instead.

I can’t understand why there is a multi plug adapter on the floor. Surely this wouldn’t pass a safety inspection and would be a fire hazard.
We actually felt like this put a damper on this particular part of our holiday and stayed out of the room for as long as possible after our activities and ending up spending most of our time at the local hotel bar.
Don’t waste your money.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review us , reviews are important to us so we can improve our guests experience .We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

You get an apartment including furnished kitchen. It was very spacious. Everything in it was convenient and comfortable. The staff was accommodating. There is a laundry onsite for use in recommended times. The location has just adequate parking (basically, one space per room). Good location across from the lake. You can walk to the restaurants of Te Anau and the visitors center.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you Scott for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews