We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
334
164
38
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
334
164
38
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound spa bath day bed view of the lake picnic tables little extras shops and restaurants within walking distance laundry room the kitchen comfortable bed milford track great place to stay new zealand day trip three nights pillows
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2023

Our room was booked through a travel agent for us. Unfortunately we didn’t check website about the room otherwise we would have changed to a more modern hotel.
This is like stepping into your grandparents retirement village home. It is desperately in need of an update and is not “upmarket” as described on its website.
Rooms are not lake view but side street view with people and cars constantly passing your room. The door to villa has a draft comming through.
The breakfast, which maybe a 5 year old would find filling, is served through a hatch in the wall. If you want a “cooked” breakfast, it consists of eggs, which you cook yourself.
For the price of breakfast, it’s laughable. We decided to eat out instead.

I can’t understand why there is a multi plug adapter on the floor. Surely this wouldn’t pass a safety inspection and would be a fire hazard.
We actually felt like this put a damper on this particular part of our holiday and stayed out of the room for as long as possible after our activities and ending up spending most of our time at the local hotel bar.
Don’t waste your money.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review us , reviews are important to us so we can improve our guests experience .We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

You get an apartment including furnished kitchen. It was very spacious. Everything in it was convenient and comfortable. The staff was accommodating. There is a laundry onsite for use in recommended times. The location has just adequate parking (basically, one space per room). Good location across from the lake. You can walk to the restaurants of Te Anau and the visitors center.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2023

Thank you Scott for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2023 via mobile

5/5

Lakefront Lodge is a clean and comfortable place to stay when visiting Te Anau, New Zealand (nr. Milford Sound). The Walsh’s are lovely, informative and helpful Hosts and they can point you in the direction of a myriad of fund things to do in the area.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2023

Thank you Brian for your kind review , we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2023

Coming from the accommodation industry we were so impressed with how the room were presented. We congratulate the housekeeping crew for an immaculate room.
The owners Dianne and David were so lovely and enjoyed the conversations we had.
Would Highly recommend to anyone

Date of stay: May 2023
Thank oceanbreezer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2023

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2023

A superb place to stay. Extremely clean, well appointed, great amenities and a very comfortable bed!
The host is excellent. Very helpful and kind.
The best Lodge we stayed in!!!! Milford Sound was a great trip, organised by the host. One of the greatest experiences of our NZ stay.

Room tip: Relaxing, town within walking distance. Good places to eat.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marysE2313EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne Walsh, Owner at Lakefront Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2023

wow thank you we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our town .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews