We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$145
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tania R

Not great

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Apr 2024
The room had hair on the bathroom floor … not mine
No milk in fridge
Second day no towels and didn’t even clean cups or wipe counter
And absolutely my fault but I put my key into room 115 instead of 111 and it opened!!!
Man at counter was lovely
Man in bar was lovely
……..,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Get better cleaners
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
 Amber Court Motel, 4 Star Self Contained Motel Apartments
Tripadvisor
$150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$175
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Tripadvisor
$123
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $359
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $71
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $271
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $233
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
89
189
183
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
189
183
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast lake view room was large comfortable beds town te fiordland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2024 via mobile

We found this Motel to be great solid standard, nothing special but good value.

What let it down was mold on the shower curtain.

Location ideal to walk to town and visit the tree in the lake.

The location offers a restaurant which seemed empty, but we was out .

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sparcs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

We stayed in Kingsgate Hotel in January which I highly recommend and would have no hesitation in recommending it as a place to stay. The staff are very professional, courteous and friendly. They could not do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Such an experience can never be obtained from a large commercial hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 307friedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Ludlow, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Hi,
thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to do this, and are glad to here that you had a great experience.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

They must have staff issues here!
This is an older, freshened up hotel. About a 2.5 out of 5 level. It is located across the street from one end of Lake Te Anau waterfront.
Our stay here has been somewhat of a disappointment. The freshening up could have been taken a little further, but that's not what really bugged us. When we checked into our room yesterday we discovered the bed was missing a sheet. We called the front desk, they brought a sheet and we corrected the situation ourselves. Today when we returned, after a full day at Milford Sound, we find the bed made, dirty glasses replaced or cleaned BUT a big pile of sheets on the counter, no towels except for the used ones in the bathtub and no ammenities restocked. Called the front desk again . . . a house keeper came fairly promptly and finished the job. Room 218.
We wouldn't stay here again.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank skibug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Ludlow, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Hello skibug23,

thank you for your feedback, and my apologies for your stay not going to plan as you would have hoped. I have discussed this with our housekeeping team to ensure our usual high standards are maintained.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2024 via mobile

Close to town (10mins walk). Clean and comfortable. Across the road from the lake at the end near the information centre.

Very welcoming staff and happy to accommodate any request. Always happy and smiling.

Rooms are big enough and have a mini fridge, tea/coffee facilities.

Room tip: Parking spaces are quite small
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TaniaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Ludlow, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Hi Tania,
great to get your feedback from your recent stay with us thank you. We hope to welcome you back to Te Anau in the very near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

The hotel is dated, but clean throughout. The restaurant food, and staff were very good. The room was large, and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel and restaurant overlook the lake and are just a short walking distance from the village centre.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Justin Ludlow, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

Hello Steve,
thank you for taking the time to give us some valued feedback from your recent stay with us. It is greatly appreciated as we endeavor to continue providing a great experience for our guests.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews