We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$308
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Nick H
Stay again? Hell yeah....
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 May 2023
Though this hotel is a bit older, the room had a high standard. With comfortable beds, and a good heater.
The views from the dining room of the lake, are incredible. We enjoyed a great breakfast with views most people normally only dream of.
The staff were all very friendly, and great to deal with.
Date of stay: April 2023
Room Tip: Easy off street parking, so bring your car.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hot Tub - Only available with selected unit's(A Hot tub unit or a superior room)
Tripadvisor
$295
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$346
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$1,156
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $271
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free parking
Queen Single Superior Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $217
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $339
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
88
189
182
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
189
182
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast lake view room was large comfortable beds town te fiordland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2023 via mobile

Fantastic staff and decent accommodation.

Rooms and buffet breakfast were as you’d expect, nothing amazing but still good.

The staff were friendly and super helpful. Our hotel manager even offered to drive myself and a friend to the start of the Kepler track so that we could fill our afternoon with a hike. Fast forward 6.5 hours and he also came and picked us up, saving us about 10-15km worth of extra walking along the roadside.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2022

We had 2 lovely nights at the hotel. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, well equipped and very clean. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating, in particular Mark who has gone out of his way to return some items we left behind. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeannine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2022

We travel very often and can honestly say we have never been welcomed so friendly and treated so great. Although an older building, it was very clean and welcoming. Room was very spacious with a small living area. Coffee station and toiletries was very good. We had a room with a reasonable lake view. We had to do some laundry while there. It was so easy in huge machines. We stayed there on by birthday and was treated with a lovely breakfast. Although a small selection, it was extremely tasty and freshly made. We wanted to stay for breakfasts on other mornings but could not as we had to leave early. Thank you so much for an awesome stay. Will be back again.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tersia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2022

Justin, the manager, greeted us warmly when we arrived. All staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed four nights and can't fault the service. Location is superb, overlooking Lake Te Anau. Room was large and clean. Perfect. Te Anau is a great little town and a good base for exploring Fiordland.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2022

Great stay 😊 lovely staff especially the reception guy from the day so friendly and helpful (sorry can’t remember his name). On our honeymoon and the staff wrote us a beautiful note with bubble, chocolate and flowers!! Thank you all for the wonderful stay!!

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sezzi_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews