We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$73
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/06/22
Hotels.comUS$77
TravelocityUS$77
ZenHotels.comUS$80
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
77
181
180
54
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
181
180
54
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound would stay again room was large short stay lake town te base fiordland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2021

My wife and I were touring New Zealand, on a 15-day tour arranged through Travelmarvel by APT, and so all hotel arrangements were made in advance by them. For that reason, I have no idea of the cost of the room or how well the hotel communicates with customers making direct bookings. We stayed here for one night, after visiting Milford Sound on our way from Queenstown to Dunedin. The hotel was quite dated, but fine for our needs. As a large group, we were allocated room near the rear of the hotel, so had no real view. However, as the hotel is situated on the shore of Lake Te Anau, just across a relatively quiet road, this meant it was ideal for catching the beautiful sunset over the lake and mountains. The room was fairly spacious and had a comfortable bed, which was the most important thing for us on a one-night stay. I’ll attach photos of the sunset to this review to show the advantage of the hotel location.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JayRae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Lovely location. Nice to be able to walk along the lake
Room and furniture somewhat dated. In need of refurbishment
Our room looked over a courtyard so poor view. Best rooms have a lake view
No air con so hot at night in mid summer
Standard buffet breakfast. Ok set evening meal
Good place to stay for a night or two as part of a tour of South Island

Room tip: Best rooms have a lake view
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestmidsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your meals in our on-site restaurant. While we don't have air conditioning in our rooms, we are happy to provide fans to guests during the warmer summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We stayed one night after a day trip to Doubtful Sound. This is a standard motel with average size rooms. The bathrooms are small and the rooms a bit tired. Having said that, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DL2Some
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, and for you comments regarding our friendly staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast served in our on-site restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a journey round South Island. Very nice hotel in good location friendly helpful staff and very good restaurant. Ideal location for visiting Milford Sound as only coach convoys are allowed. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank K1086HKkenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, helpful staff and on-site restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

This us a lovely motel in a great location. 5 mins walk to town centre and our room overlooked the lake. Room was clean with everything needed, liked it so much we decided to stay an extra night. Staff are nice, didn't eat in restaurant as we wanted a stroll into town. Would recommend

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of your room and the service provided by our friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews