We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$118
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$114
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
JayRae1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Good choice for a short stay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2021
My wife and I were touring New Zealand, on a 15-day tour arranged through Travelmarvel by APT, and so all hotel arrangements were made in advance by them. For that reason, I have no idea of the cost of the room or how well the hotel communicates with customers making direct bookings. We stayed here for one night, after visiting Milford Sound on our way from Queenstown to Dunedin. The hotel was quite dated, but fine for our needs. As a large group, we were allocated room near the rear of the hotel, so had no real view. However, as the hotel is situated on the shore of Lake Te Anau, just across a relatively quiet road, this meant it was ideal for catching the beautiful sunset over the lake and mountains. The room was fairly spacious and had a comfortable bed, which was the most important thing for us on a one-night stay. I’ll attach photos of the sunset to this review to show the advantage of the hotel location.
Date of stay: March 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lakeview Powered site
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free parking
1.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
0.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.9 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
88
189
182
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
189
182
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast lake view room was large comfortable beds town te fiordland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Lovely location. Nice to be able to walk along the lake
Room and furniture somewhat dated. In need of refurbishment
Our room looked over a courtyard so poor view. Best rooms have a lake view
No air con so hot at night in mid summer
Standard buffet breakfast. Ok set evening meal
Good place to stay for a night or two as part of a tour of South Island

Room tip: Best rooms have a lake view
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestmidsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your meals in our on-site restaurant. While we don't have air conditioning in our rooms, we are happy to provide fans to guests during the warmer summer months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We stayed one night after a day trip to Doubtful Sound. This is a standard motel with average size rooms. The bathrooms are small and the rooms a bit tired. Having said that, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DL2Some
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, and for you comments regarding our friendly staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast served in our on-site restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a journey round South Island. Very nice hotel in good location friendly helpful staff and very good restaurant. Ideal location for visiting Milford Sound as only coach convoys are allowed. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank K1086HKkenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, helpful staff and on-site restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

This us a lovely motel in a great location. 5 mins walk to town centre and our room overlooked the lake. Room was clean with everything needed, liked it so much we decided to stay an extra night. Staff are nice, didn't eat in restaurant as we wanted a stroll into town. Would recommend

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of your room and the service provided by our friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here as we were doing the doubtful sound cruise, great location. value for money, it wasn't super flash but clean and tidy and had everything we needed with restaurants close by, would stay again

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank twodeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our location, the cleanliness of the rooms and that you found our property to be good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews