We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$118
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DL2Some
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Nice Accomodations
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2020
We stayed one night after a day trip to Doubtful Sound. This is a standard motel with average size rooms. The bathrooms are small and the rooms a bit tired. Having said that, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was excellent.
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$360
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$158
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Tripadvisor
$70
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$256
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$255
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $234
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
88
189
182
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
189
182
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast lake view room was large comfortable beds town te fiordland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 554 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

Stayed one night as part of a journey round South Island. Very nice hotel in good location friendly helpful staff and very good restaurant. Ideal location for visiting Milford Sound as only coach convoys are allowed. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank K1086HKkenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, helpful staff and on-site restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

This us a lovely motel in a great location. 5 mins walk to town centre and our room overlooked the lake. Room was clean with everything needed, liked it so much we decided to stay an extra night. Staff are nice, didn't eat in restaurant as we wanted a stroll into town. Would recommend

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of your room and the service provided by our friendly staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here as we were doing the doubtful sound cruise, great location. value for money, it wasn't super flash but clean and tidy and had everything we needed with restaurants close by, would stay again

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank twodeezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed our location, the cleanliness of the rooms and that you found our property to be good value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2020

We both were very disappointed in the customer service. When we checked in the lady was not very helpful when asking about the local area and what to do she was very short with us and not plesent. We traveled all around the south island as we were on honeymoon and stayed in many hotels and both this kingsgate and kingsgate in dunedin were hotels we will jot recommend,in fact all of the other hotels gave somethings small as a gesture to our honeymoon but Kingsgate didn't want to know.We will not recommend both hotels to anyone we know going there from Ireland.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aidgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

The Kingsgate in Te Anau is an older hotel but makes for a comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and the shower has great pressure.

The rooms get pretty hot in summer but we were provided a very good fan which really helped.

Didn’t try the restaurant but the menu looked pretty good!

Would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews