We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$145
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Aid G

Customer Service Very Poor

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2020
We both were very disappointed in the customer service. When we checked in the lady was not very helpful when asking about the local area and what to do she was very short with us and not plesent. We traveled all around the south island as we were on honeymoon and stayed in many hotels and both this kingsgate and kingsgate in dunedin were hotels we will jot recommend,in fact all of the other hotels gave somethings small as a gesture to our honeymoon but Kingsgate didn't want to know.We will not recommend both hotels to anyone we know going there from Ireland.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $254
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $359
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $77
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free parking
 Amber Court Motel, 4 Star Self Contained Motel Apartments
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $234
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
89
189
183
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
189
183
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast lake view room was large comfortable beds town te fiordland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

The Kingsgate in Te Anau is an older hotel but makes for a comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and the shower has great pressure.

The rooms get pretty hot in summer but we were provided a very good fan which really helped.

Didn’t try the restaurant but the menu looked pretty good!

Would stay again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2020

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019

We stayed 1 night at the Kingsgate hotel on our way to Milford sound. Rooms were basic & clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. It was perfect for our short stay. Location is good as its a short walk to the town center and restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Taurus_1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our helpful, friendly staff and our convenient location close to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019

The hotel is basic and a little bland but the rooms were clean, well serviced and the staff was very helpful. There is no lift to access the first floor but the person made that clear at check in so I could have requested a ground floor room if needed. The location is very good, only a few minutes from the centre of town and restaurants.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DelphineLesterLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2019

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm pleased to read you found our rooms to be clean and well serviced along with our staff being very helpful. We are always happy to assist guests with their luggage to and from their rooms to make navigating our staircase a more enjoyable task.
We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2019

Had a better than expected buffet lunch with a nice glass of local wine. Pleasant, helpful servers. Nice fish and salad, Great desserts. We were on a motor coach tour and this was our lunch stop on the way to Queenstown.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2019

Thank you for your lovely review of our buffet lunch. We aren't open for lunch everyday, only when we have a group booked in, so it's nice to read you enjoyed our catering. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your overland tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2019

This hotel is basic but comfortable and has everything you need for a night or two stay. There is no elevator so expect to have to carry your bags upstairs, but the staff are friendly. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds. The carpark got full quickly, and it was always busy. Easy to get to the main part of town for access to restaurants etc. Close to the lake.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kareen_j15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Thank you for your review of our property Kareen. I'm pleased to see you found our hotel to be comfortable with everything you needed. Our staff are always happy to assist guests with their luggage and we do have an additional car park behind the hotel to cater to overflow from the main park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews