We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chris M
Stanmore Bay, null, New Zealand

Average Stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
Unfortunately initial entering into the carpark at the hotel was to say at the very least, unsightly. The building to the left of the carpark entrance at reception has windows boarded up and is not a nice sight. Reception area smelt damp and musty and was not inviting. Rooms are OK - has fridge, TV (though reception not always that great), guest laundry. Bed was comfortable. Some furnishings need repair/replacement. Curtains half of the tracks. With a little more upkeep it would be a more inviting place to stay. There is no pool, no restaurant, and any outdoor facilities, eg mini golf - is derelict and unsightly.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $249
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    $395
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $79
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $234
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
54.3 km from Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
13
63
88
43
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
63
88
43
33
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

One of the worst hotels I’ve ever been to. Upon arrival you are greeted with dirty curtains and broken windows and you then know enough. The room was unkept and dirty, lights weren’t working and the smell in the bathroom was dreadful.
The carpet was all rippled up and was probably there since 1970.
As soon as we could we left the place.
This motel should be demolished in my opinion, there are plenty of other accommodations in Te Anau, closer by the lake as well.

Room tip: Do not book this one
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

A functional, practical place to stay to break up the journey to Milford Sounds. Staff nice and rooms good and reflective of the photos posted. Rooms no problems at all but the general areas (stairs and corridors) dated and smell damp. If you are looking for luxury or somewhere special not a place for you, if you are looking for practical and a nights stay with parking it’s perfect.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

The bed was of good quality and the room overall was well furnished and equipped with everything one would expect in a hotel room. The carpets need replacement, though. This was a nice and pleasant stay.

Room tip: The hotel is located a little outside of the business centre and you must drive to get some food.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 230,642
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2023 via mobile

Cheaper than other place in te Anau but 3 star rating is a little optimistic. What we needed was clean and adequate for purpose but not of a standard to match the price. Double bed for two is old fashioned and no longer common. Bathroom was “tight”. Tea and coffee was provided but tasted “funny”.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023

When we arrived we were truly put in a shoe box, I went down and complained honestly two people in this room was one too many. The girl then showed up and said her mistake she had put us in the wrong room. Just in time as we were about to walk out.
The next room was much larger (it could not be any smaller) The hotel is very dated and in need of a lot of repairs linen and room were clean though- the only reason we stayed, to be honest. Te Anau is such a truly beautiful place but if we ever return we will find somewhere else to stay.

Room tip: Not the best place in town
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews