We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
13
63
87
42
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
63
87
42
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

Manager is great, but motel is very tired. Windows don’t close completely and the view is of a half ripped up mini golf that used to be on the roof. Don’t think the hotel had an update in more than 30 years. Price is low but you can do better along the lakefront in same price range and this is a 15 min walk to town. Positives: It does have a fridge and tea kettle and management kindly prepared room for early arrival. Management gave a gratis lift to town when it was raining.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank TravelerAlways2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2019 via mobile

you get what you pay for and here that isnt much, its run down and its clear that not much money is re-invested back into the hotel but i guess thats what happens when you sell everything to foreigners who dont even live in the country. Located on the edge of town off the main road its location is less than ideal and the carpark which needs re surfacing has pot holes which could be a hazard if returning from a night out on foot. The rooms are small so small infact that the bed can only be accessed on one side as the other side is against a wall, very limited tv channels, which is fine if you like informercials. The bench space isnt enough and foot high mini fridge is situated under the bench on the floor which would be a problem for the elderly. On the nights we stayed the toilet leaked and the pourous slate floor tiles in the bathroom had piss stains around the base of the toilet, the plug hole in the shower over the bath had black hairs in it that wernt ours and house keeping didnt bother to vacuum while we were out, towels also had stains on them. The room is so small that if you want to watch tv youre forced to lie on the bed. The outside area from the rooms has broken concrete paths and is very unapealing. The water presure in the shower wasnt great and could be better.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank DeepSouthNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2019

It is a 3star lodge in a small township (Te anau). We were allocated a room in a new building. The room was very spacious and we loved the bed and amenities in the room. The guy in the reception was super nice by turning on the heater prior to our arrival, hence the room was warm and comfy when we entered. There was not any cafe or restaurants in walking distance though, however you can drive around to nearby restaurants in 3-5mins. We went there during winter time (off peak season) thus it was very quiet with less number of tourists.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gshamini28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2019

The fact that this lodging is not in the city centre may influence the guests' evaluation when it comes to its location, but definitely not in regards to the quality of sleep. The bedroom was fairly big, and so was the bathroom. Most of the guests were Asians and to further clarify their presence I was told it is often selected by tours from those countries, which I personally had nothing against.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iolanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2019

Our tour group booked this hotel for us and I agreed with most reviews. It is average and tired. The property needs some work to upgrade its facilities very soon. There is an open activity room with dart block and games tables. But, it is so cold...
However, the location is great to go to Fiordland national park. And there is a good lake walk path close by the hotel. Very relaxing walk especially in the fall time. Breakfast is very basic

Room tip: Do not expect too much
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SunCruise2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews