We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jason

Disappointed

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Aug 2016via mobile
The rooms aren't sound proof, you could just hear the people talking and walking next door. Next to that, the heater is small and doesn't work properly at all. The tv has 9 channels which all reality series focussed without any channel for the Olympic games or movies!
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sallie A, Manager at Fiordland Holiday Houses, responded to this review
Responded 12 Oct 2016
I can only gather that you stayed at our Budget Accommodation in Manapouri - Classic Cottage, as this is the only home that could fit your description? You are quite correct. Classic Cottage is a small budget traditional bach without SKY TV (the channels are those that everyone without sky tv receive) - and advertised as such. The neighbours are an elderly quiet couple, and a chef away for two weeks at a time so hearing your neighbours is quite an achievement considering it is a stand alone house. You would perhaps have been more comfortable in one of my upmarket contemporary homes - SKY, soundproof walls, wifi, modern facilities - those homes being priced accordingly.
Classic Budget Cottage has recently had the welcome addition of complimentary WIFI and a Heat Pump installed, so is an even more cosy home for those who wish to book budget family friendly accommodation. All advertising text and photos portray honestly and openly the home as it is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $250
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$164
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Vio.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
    $178
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$331
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Official Site
    $395
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Hotels.com
    $72
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $168
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Booking.com
$112
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $122
  • Hotels.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $116
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $266
  • Expedia.com
    $274
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $234
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent two nights at Manapouri Lodge from the 22nd to the 24th of December 2013. We used this place as a starting point for a tour at Milford Sound and were really sad about not having chosen to stay longer in this beautiful house and the excellent area around.
The furnishings and fittings in the house are brand new. I loved the king room with a bathroom en suite everything very modern but still cosy. Everything was spotlessly clean. The house has an inviting fireplace. We immediately felt at home. From almost everywhere in the house you have views to the mountains.
When we went on we forgot some clothes of the girls and Sally kindly sent it to us at once. I recommend this house without hesitation.
Kind regards to Sally and thank you once again.
Andrea and Dirk from Germany

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The cottage was lovely and equipped with dishwasher, washing machine, dryer - basically all we could need. There was stuff to do on rainy days and the cottage was clean and comfortable. It had a nice bathroom and all in all we were really happy there.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in Cabbage Tree Home for 2 nights in Feb 2013 when my parents and grandpa came out to visit from the UK. It was an ideal base from which to do our Doubtful Sound day trip and only a 5 minute drive to the main shops and restaurants in Te Anau. The house was clean, cosy and well furnished - we really had no complaints. Sallie, the owner, was helpful and friendly to deal with. I would definitely recommend this bach to others and would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 176NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had a great stay at Sunglow Cottage in Te Anau for four nights with our family in mid January. Te Anau was the final destination of a five week long trip through the country with stays at numerous baches, hotels and camp grounds. Sunglow Cottage turned out to be everyone's favourite place. Cute, cosy, unpretentious and with a lot of light, it was the ideal place to come and relax. Have barbies and nice meals on the sunny deck, or just chill out on the Queen double bed all afternoon with a book. We wanted to take the little house back with us when returning home. The house is in walking distance to lake Te Anau and town. Landlady was very easy to deal with, had provided a lot of information and was very friendly. We definitely recommend this place. Great value for money.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famtrip2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed two nights at the Heritage House and it was a thoroughly enjoyable. The kids loved it and the views of the lake and the mountains are breath taking. The house is well appointed with all that is required for a family. Sallie was very helpful with organising the bus tour to Milford Sound and the cruise.

We would love to come back.

Vinod

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Vinodkumar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews