We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible experience with a great guide

We were extremely lucky to have amazing calm, cloudy weather on our trip into doubtful sound... read more

Reviewed 7 January 2021
Veritychch
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
A perfect way to experience Doubtful Sound

We have recently returned from yet another professional and well organised kayak trip with Go... read more

Reviewed 1 December 2020
Footprints531445
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 211 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Te Anau
from US$141.93
More Info
from US$70.61
More Info
from US$70.61
More Info
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
174
25
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
25
6
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2021

We were extremely lucky to have amazing calm, cloudy weather on our trip into doubtful sound. Malcolm, the bus driver on the way over Wilmot pass was great, sharing a lot of knowledge, some good humour and photo stops. We were on a day trip kayaking, and the scenery was ridiculously beautiful. Ollie, our guide, was incredibly knowledgeable and there was no question he couldn't answer. He was also really friendly and made the day so much fun. We were lucky to make good ground and experience the beauty and the silence of the sound. We would highly recommend this trip!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Veritychch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020

We have recently returned from yet another professional and well organised kayak trip with Go Orange. This time, the one day, Kayak trip on Doubtful Sound. Even before the kayaking began, it was a great adventure, getting the boat across Lake Manapouri and taking the educational ride over Wilmot pass. Don’t be put off by the effort to get there. Doubtful Sound is an amazing place - remote, and pristine. It’s remoteness is what makes it all the more special. The scenery is just breathtaking, and kayaking on the sound is such a fabulous way to experience it. We were lucky to enjoy calm waters and a sighting of three Fiordland crested penguins. Thanks to Ollie for your professional guiding, education, humour and keeping us safe. Also, thanks again to Go Orange for helping to make this an unforgettable experience!

Date of experience: November 2020
1  Thank Footprints531445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

I was very lucky with the weather when I went on this tour, calm when we started (so could get used to steering the kayak and then apart from the last 30 minutes we had the wind at our backs. AJ our guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable of both the wildlife and area. He also set a good pace for us and brought us to some great areas. We were fortunate that the conditions allowed us to get to all areas. I have to say the scenery was breathtaking and we also got to see some Fiordland penguins swimming near us early in the day, the water was flat calm at the time which helped make it real easy to spot them. Overall a fantastic experience

2  Thank Irish_Kiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Go Orange really exceeded my expectations with this trip. They are so organized! You start with a ferry ride, followed by a bus ride to the kayak launch. They supply you with all the gear you need.

Everyone gets matched up in small groups with an instructor (Brody was awesome!) who takes you out and shows you some of the prettiest parts of the sound. It's really so, so beautiful and peaceful.

It's a great workout and you might be a little sore after, but totally worth it!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank scorseseeyebrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

Trip was wonderful. Our guide, Finn, was incredible, funny, knowledgeable, and a joy to be around, thank you. Drybags were provided so made it easy to bring cameras, etc. The mosquitos/sandflies were the only negative. Once in a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Journey618457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews