We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Getting up close and personal in Doubtful Sound

Absolutely amazing experience, kayaking in the gorgeous Doubtful Sound. Our wonderful tour guide... read more

Reviewed 18 January 2021
Delgirl70
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Incredible experience with a great guide

We were extremely lucky to have amazing calm, cloudy weather on our trip into doubtful sound... read more

Reviewed 7 January 2021
Veritychch
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 211 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Te Anau
from US$142.07
More Info
from US$70.68
More Info
from US$70.68
More Info
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
174
25
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
25
6
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

The overnight kayak trip at Doubtful Sound was splendid! The scenery was breathtaking and we even were able to have a relaxing swim. We really enjoyed the remote campsite, laying in an amazing forest, next to a freshwater stream. All credits goes to Joel, our guide who was very considerate and fun. In the end he had a surprise for us (only possible with good winds) and that was great!

5 stars for Joel! ; )

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Olive_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

If it’s one thing you do in your life, you must experience kayaking the Doubtful Sound! It was truly the most awe inspiring place I’ve ever been. The cruise doesn’t do it justice, you must kayak to get the deep experience. To hear all the hidden waterfalls. To possibly see the seals, dolphins, and penguins. Our guides Aiden and Joel were the best too. Full of knowledge and fun.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 829lindseyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

It's a beautiful landscape and it's amazing to explore it by kayak. The guides took good care of us. By the way, it was a good workout since we had to fight against the current on our way back

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Swissrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I did the Milford Must Do with my girlfriend a few weeks ago and it was one of the highlights of our trip! The scenery is spectacular, I can't reccommend it enough enough. Bailey was our tour guide and she was fantastic, full of knowledge about the area happy to chat whilst we paddled.
The day was overcast but the mountains, water and waterfalls were still incredible.
We saw dolphins and a penguin!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank mattwX2069RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Its hard not to love Milford sound and via Kayak is amazing. Just one thing is too much talking and rafting up and not enough kayaking!! I wanted a little history and info, but also to have some quiet and enjoy the serenity. Good price for 830 till 2. However first hour and bit is getting ready and safety.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank 173louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews