We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Go Orange Kayaks tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
117
20
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
20
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kayaking trip overnight kayak doubtful sound sleeping mats thermal underwear dragon's den difficult situation guide tim experienced paddlers experienced guide waterproof shoes great guide safety briefing rain and wind overnight stay recommend this trip new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

I did the Milford Must Do with my girlfriend a few weeks ago and it was one of the highlights of our trip! The scenery is spectacular, I can't reccommend it enough enough. Bailey was our tour guide and she was fantastic, full of knowledge about the area happy to chat whilst we paddled.
The day was overcast but the mountains, water and waterfalls were still incredible.
We saw dolphins and a penguin!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Its hard not to love Milford sound and via Kayak is amazing. Just one thing is too much talking and rafting up and not enough kayaking!! I wanted a little history and info, but also to have some quiet and enjoy the serenity. Good price for 830 till 2. However first hour and bit is getting ready and safety.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank 173louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Matt and Robbie picked us up in Te Anou at 6.30 in the pouring rain. It had poured all night and continued to do so during the two hour journey to the Sound. Matt told us that they didn’t know if the trip would take place until we arrived, as well as telling us about what to expect. By this stage I was secretly hoping it would be cancelled, it was such a miserable day.
On arrival we were given the go ahead. Warm kit and life jackets doled out, instruction on what to do and we were off. Matt took our group and was brilliant, encouraging, safety conscious, knowledgeable and good fun.
We felt rather sorry for the people on the big cruisers, not only could they not get into the little creeks, but they didn’t get the full interaction with the elements.
Oh, and the sun came out and the skies cleared soon after we set off, so we saw the Sound in all it's glory.
Take heed of the insect repellent advice: once out on the water there’s no problem, but on land the sand flies are vicious.
BTW we are in our sixties and the other 6 in our group were young enough to be our children, and we had no previous experience kayaking, but we were a team and had no problem keeping up with the group.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I did the day kayaking trip with Go Orange in Doubtful Sound (booked through Real Journeys) and it was AMAZING! Our guide was Brody and he was always very nice, courteous, helpful, and funny! Doubtful sound was absolutely beautiful - I think the best part is since it’s harder to get to there are simply less people than Milford. Really quite a site. We had a beautiful day but really the kayaking was not strenuous, rather enjoyable. Would highly highly recommend! Also Go Orange provides warm weather clothing and splash jacket - just be ware of the black sand flies! Otherwise awesome trip. Thanks Brody and Go Orange!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank smiley91991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

If you are visiting New Zealand or considering it, don't miss Milford Sound. In particular, don't miss Milford Sound on the water kayaking. Go Orange's team was great. Harry picked us up and drove us to Milford Sound from Te Anau. He was a great guide, so excited about the trip, the location, and his country. His passion and excitement wore off on us.

In addition, we traveled to the sound just after a good rain and everything was flowing heavily, not to mention snow at roughly 2500 ft. There were waterfalls all over the place and the scenery on the road to the sound is absolutely amazing.

The view of the sound when we arrived was spectacular. We've seen fjords in Norway that are amazing, but what was most interesting here was the steep and rugged peaks around this sound, the mountains appear much younger than in Norway, so they make for an amazing backdrop to the deep sound.

Our guide took us for a 2.5 hr kayak. We had planned on 5 hrs, but the wind was too strong. However even in that wind he directed use to the Lady Bowen falls where we got a great view. We saw bottle nosed dolphins and jellyfish and many smaller waterfalls. We returned to the shore and Go Orange arranged a 2 hr cruise to the end of the sound given our kayaking trip was shortened. This was an exceptional cruise with outstanding views.

All-in-all an unforgettable day.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews