We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Go Orange Kayaks tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Te Anau
from US$164.90
More Info
from US$32.30
More Info
from US$167.70
More Info
from US$68.80
More Info
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
117
20
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
20
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kayaking trip overnight kayak doubtful sound sleeping mats thermal underwear dragon's den difficult situation guide tim experienced paddlers experienced guide waterproof shoes great guide safety briefing rain and wind overnight stay recommend this trip new zealand
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We had the most amazing experience at Milford sound. Unfortunately when we arrived it was too windy to Kayak, however the accommodating staff arranged for us to go on the Milford cruise where we got to see 16km down the river! We also managed to get 2.5 hours Kayaking done afterwards in the most beautiful places (especially Devil's cave).

Highly recommend!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Kelsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Our kayaking experience was great with Go Orange from start to finish. Whilst it is a way to go to Doubtful Sound it is definitely worthwhile (even though it hadn't rained in a while it was still gorgeous). We hoped to have some commentary on the cruise across Lake Manapouri but this didn't occur. However, the bus ride and commentary on it was fantastic, worthwhile in itself! Loved the bus ride!

The kayaking was great! The introduction was in depth which was good considering we had never kayaked before. We had one guide who was learning the area and another helping her, both guides were knowledge and very friendly, easy to talk to. The scenery was spectacular and it wasn't too long for beginner kayakers! We truly loved our experience and thank our guides for an excellent day out in beautiful Doubtful Sound. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

We did the milford must do kayaking day trip. the weather was a good mix but milford sound was spectacular from the water. You experience it so much more when you are paddling in a kayak compared to a large cruise ship. I am a large guy (well over 6ft) and was not at all comfortable in the kayaks. they do not suit tall or large people. unfortunately everything they provide is 'one size fits all' which is unfortunately never the case. I would recommend this to people that are not big and tall. suited well to couples as they only provide double kayaks

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank MrRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We had a great day out on Doubtful Sound with Go Orange (Doubtful Day Out trip)! Harry was a great guide and had us out on the water as soon as we had our equipment and provided clothing on. My husband and I had been kayaking before, but Harry went through the basics anyway and we felt safe out on the water. We had great weather and it felt like we had the whole sound to ourselves. My husband brought a GoPro to take photos and it fit into the pouch on the life jacket perfectly to capture video and pop out for pictures. It was an all-day adventure by the time we took the boat and bus rides over from Manapouri and back again, but totally worth it. Our group was made up of 4 double kayaks with Harry in a single. If you aren't sure whether to do Milford or Doubtful Sound, EVERYONE we spoke to told us that Doubtful was WAY better since it's not as crowded. We haven't done both, so we can't say for sure, but it was a peaceful day on the water.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Bridget K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We went on the 4 hour kayak trip on Milford sound on the 27th of December. We lucked out with the weather as it was calm and blue skies. Go orange crew were epic our guide Jeff what a legend very knowledgeable and heaps of fun whilst kayaking. I would recommend to book early as spaces book up quickly.

Massive thank you from team Scotland and the Irish

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews