We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
leonora w
Olivebridge, New York

We'd give Cinema Suites an Oscar for awesome accomodations!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024
We loved our stay in Cinema Suites--make that two different stays! The suite has plenty of room to sleep and hang out, with comfy couches, a nice dining table and efficient kitchen--it feels like you are staying at a friend's loft apartment, not a hotel. With a queen size bed in the main space and a second bedroom with twin beds, it is ideal for a family or friends traveling together. Bathrooms are very well appointed and we were greeted by a lovely bowl of fruit and a nice bottle of NZ wine. Our only tiny complaint was that the reading lamps near the bed weren't really strong enough to read by.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $359
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $251
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $234
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $77
  • Priceline
1.3 km from The Cinema Suites
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from The Cinema Suites
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2024

I can’t recommend this place enough. Such an awesome place to stay in Te Anau. The room was clean, spacious and great four our family of four. Two complimentary wine bottles on arrival were an awesome touch. Even had surround sound system set up for the living room area. We ended up watching several movies and even went below to the cinema and brought up some fresh popcorn. Showers were awesome with heated bathroom floors perfect after a cool day out on Milford sound. Perfect location next to several restaurants and grocery store. We stayed here two nights and honestly of all the places we stayed in New Zealand over the course of two weeks it was one of the best!

Seriously can’t recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2023 via mobile

Travelling with family and kids.. Spacious accomodation. Great ambience and decor. Small kitchenette with microwave and toaster and kettle and coffee machine and fridge. Well heated. Bathrooms are heated too!! ( this was a good as we travelled in peak winter ). Complimentary tea n coffee n water and fruits!
Great stay. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Patekphilippe2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2022 via mobile

We really liked the cinema suites. We had driven up from Milford Sound in the pouring rain and, arriving before midday, we never expected the apartment to be ready. However, it was and it was great to be able to get out of the rain. The suite is much larger than we expected, with a large king size bedroom area in the lounge/diner, a huge bathroom & a kitchenette plus another large twin bedroom with its own bathroom. It was really too big for us but we enjoyed the comfort and "cooking" our own meal (there is a microwave and a Fresh Choice supermarket across the road) after 3 weeks in hotels.
There was a complimentary bottle of red or white NZ wine plus tickets to the cinema to see a Fiordland film which we really enjoyed following our trip to Milford Sound. If you don't want to cook, the Black Dog bar downstairs does food or there are several restaurants in Te Anau. The weather was so wet during our one night stay that we binge-watched the Crown on Netflix which was available as a guest on the suite TV! The only reason I've not given 5 * for this place is the location. Yes, it is very central in Te Anau but most of the tourist accommodation is situated by the beautiful lake, which you wouldn't even know was there from the Cinema suite.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cuttingblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

We arrived a bit late on our first night and were amazed to find this huge apartment. The main room had a dining area, sleeping area and very comfortable large corner sofa. The second bedroom had twin beds and another shower room. It was huge.
There were lovely treats and wine/sparkling water etc. We did enjoy watching Netflix and also were given free cinema tickets and the Fiorjdland film which was brilliant. They very kindly allowed us a late check out as I don't think they had guests arriving early the next day, which was much appreciated. Breakfast was at the Sandfly next door and we could choose whatever we wanted and their breakfasts were excellent. We wish we had had more time to chill and enjoy the space.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2019

The whole cinema suites has a Fiordland temperate rainforest theme. Lovingly designed and built by the owner who hails from Fiordland. You get to shower in a bathrooms with breathtaking wallpaper from Milford Sounds or the temperate rainforest. We have never seen a hotel room with that many power outlets. Terribly useful for traveller with tonnes of camera and other equipment. The check in counter was really cute because it doubles up as the box office of a fully functioning cinema that screen an amazing feature of the Fiordland. Nellie who helped us was absolutely brilliant and made our stay all the more comfortable and wonderful.

Room tip: Stay to be pampered and venture out to explore the rugged Fiordland.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ching Liang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KimHollows, Owner at The Cinema Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews