We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$195
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TucoRich
London, United Kingdom

Very comfortable stay

Review of Edgewater Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2024via mobile
We stayed in room 1 and found it to be modernised and clean, a short walk to everything in the town. Two of us but it can sleep 4 if you don’t mind those in the lounge accessing the bathroom via the main bedroom. No stovetop but had an electric hot plate. No staff on-site due to general service labour shortages but that didn’t impact us and they were very responsive when we messaged. Overall we had a comfortable stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$253
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.1 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.2 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$359
  • Official Site
    $395
  • Expedia.com
    $423
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
0.1 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $71
  • Agoda.com
    $69
0.7 km from Edgewater Motel
Free parking
 Amber Court Motel, 4 Star Self Contained Motel Apartments
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $270
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $231
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location laundry facility clean rooms easy walk town centre across the road would stay again real journeys kepler track unit motel lake kitchenette accommodation tours nz host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2024

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is brilliant - right across the road from the lake with views all round. We were able to use laundry facilities and although there was no staffed reception, there were friendly people working there who helped us with the laundry.

Room tip: We did think that the price was excessive compared with similar accommodation across the South Island of NZ.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JillDV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soutland Asset Management, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

Stayed in the Villa 1 night with my family. Clean and warm. The villa stands alone seperate from the motel units which was nice. Villa is surrounded by a garden and good parking outside. We didn’t cook, but kitchen had everything if I did. I actually had a good nights rest in the master bedroom. Sitting room had a couple of 3 seater lounges and shower was good.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rawiniarenata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soutland Asset Management, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2023

Dear Rawiniarenata,
Thank you for staying with us and for a great review. We wish you enjoyable stay in New Zealand.
Sonch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2023 via mobile

Very good motel with complete kitchenette. Laundry facility is available o payment. Located on the Lake Frive, it is just opposite to the lake. Staff is very helpful and does tour booking too. Sasha, the manager goes out of way to help. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank avinashchandraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soutland Asset Management, Owner at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Dear Avinashchandraa, thank you for your recommendation. We enjoyed having you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

Lake-facing motel with all the amenities as expected. The suite is spacious, with a double bed and a single one in the sitting area. There is no housekeeping. Toiletries are replenished on request. Coin paid laundry service is available. The drier needs to be attended as the drying is ineffective. In our room no 4, plumping needs to be attended for the sunk as the water drains out slowly. Overall a great place to stay when in Te Anau.

Room tip: Rooms above the reception is the best, with direct view of the lake and mountains.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank puchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2023

Accommodation very clean and tidy and location excellent. No staff on site though so no-one to address any problems or tourist advice. I would however stay again. Guess the staff situation is indicative of the times.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Passport58640688985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews