We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$198
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
puchka
Bengaluru, India

Lake facing motel

Review of Edgewater Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2023via mobile
Lake-facing motel with all the amenities as expected. The suite is spacious, with a double bed and a single one in the sitting area. There is no housekeeping. Toiletries are replenished on request. Coin paid laundry service is available. The drier needs to be attended as the drying is ineffective. In our room no 4, plumping needs to be attended for the sunk as the water drains out slowly. Overall a great place to stay when in Te Anau.
Date of stay: March 2023
Room Tip: Rooms above the reception is the best, with direct view of the lake and mountains.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$360
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$250
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$178
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$215
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$274
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$70
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Edgewater Motel
Free parking
Standard Room
Tripadvisor
$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Getaway Te Anau
Tripadvisor
$116
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$145
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location laundry facility clean rooms easy walk town centre across the road would stay again real journeys kepler track unit motel lake kitchenette accommodation tours nz host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2023

Accommodation very clean and tidy and location excellent. No staff on site though so no-one to address any problems or tourist advice. I would however stay again. Guess the staff situation is indicative of the times.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Passport58640688985
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2023

Lovely clean rooms with everything we needed including comfy beds & pillows.
Great location within walking distance of the town centre and the Fiordland National Park Visitor Centre.
Super friendly and helpful host that went above & beyond for us - thank you enormously.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SavingForNextTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2022

This place is in a great location facing the lake and an easy walk to the shops bars and restaurants. Room was clean comfortable and well equipped with a gorgeous bathroom. Our only issue was that due to staff shortages there was nobody at reception at any time so we picked up our key in an envelope taped to the office door. This wasn't a particular problem until the wifi went down on the second day and there was nobody to report it to. We tried ringing the phone number provided but there was no answer. Not a major issue..but it took the gloss off what was otherwise a perfect stay.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AJMil95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2022 via mobile

This is a basic hotel and they were suffering from staff shortage. But saying that, I appreciated the small things they did offer like salt and pepper in their kitchenette as well as other little thoughtful things like paper toweling. So many places have a minimum of what is needed when one is travelling extensively, so this was a nice surprise. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay.

Room tip: Staff (owner?) was very helpful so when we found no linen had been supplied, this was fixed in one minute. If you need something, just ask.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 271judyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2022

Room was great. The kitchen had everything needed - pots, pans, dishcloths etc. Bed was comfy - bathroom was modern and the shower was excellent. Location was good too.

I was able to leave a bag at reception while I did the Kepler and was also able to check in early once I finished. Both were really appreciated.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiintheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews