We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$228
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Brent & Margy
Christchurch, New Zealand
Perfect motel
Review of Edgewater Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Apr 2021via mobile
The superior king units are just lovely. From the outside looks like typical old kiwi motel, but has been completely refurbished inside to completely new unit including doors. And high quality refurb. Bed super comfy, shower big and water hot, kitchen nicely equipped, wifi fast. Very quiet and management very welcoming, friendly and helpful. short walk to town and on the waterfront. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$359
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$178
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Tripadvisor
$71
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Edgewater Motel
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$129
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$256
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Tripadvisor
$234
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$118
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $234
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Priceline
    $161
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location laundry facility clean rooms easy walk town centre across the road would stay again real journeys kepler track unit motel lake kitchenette accommodation tours nz host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2021

Room # 12 - 2 x Night Stay

As for Value for money - I think it was fair.

Motel room had been recently painted so looked presentable.

Underneath it is still an old Motel, and has not been modernised.

No Mixer Taps, old Style Metal Kiwi shower box etc

We moved the Heater in the bedroom and much Fluff and Dust underneath - so cleaners need to do a better job!!

It was SO Quiet at night - Awesome.

Very convenient to get to Milford Sound Crusies.

Also situated right next to Lake Te Anau and 2 minute drive to Town Centre

We ate at The Ranch in town and although a little expensive, portions were massive and expertly cooked.

If back in the area we would stay here again.

Room tip: ALL rooms will be very Quiet
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2020 via mobile

We upgraded to one of the newly refurbished rooms for only an extra $20 & it was so worth it as the room was lovely & tastefully redone with a whole new refit incl a beautiful new bathroom with the best shower!!
Highly recommended & only a couple of minutes walk to town. Great host as well who was very helpful.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank takahi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2020

This was a great place to stay the night before our Kepler track. The interior of the unit was very modern, clean, quiet and just perfect for what we needed. Staff were super helpful too. Would stay there again for sure. Very close to the main street with the restaurants and shops as well.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niemand20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Great service and brand new recently renovated hotel inside brand new comfortable beds brand new bathrooms and kitchens warm definitely recommend to any one looking for accommodation friendly staff and fast wifi

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Purenz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

As a group of 11 people cycling Around the mountains track we were meant to be staying at Lumsden Hotel for 2 nights. The Operator had not done his job properly. He suggested I book 2 nights in Te Anua.
The Manager was excellent and gave us accomodation at a good price. She was very friendly and efficient. Also handy to Town and Lake.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TonyD3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edgewater Manager, General Manager at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Kia ora,
Thank you so much for your review, I was very happy to be able to help. Thank you so much for the review, it was a pleasure to host you and help where I could. I look forward when you next visit Te Anau, I am more than happy to help you to plan the next big adventure :)
Edgewater Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews