We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$253
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Priceline
$253
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$198
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mirjam Morris
Great Stay
Review of Edgewater Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Nov 2020
This was a great place to stay the night before our Kepler track. The interior of the unit was very modern, clean, quiet and just perfect for what we needed. Staff were super helpful too. Would stay there again for sure. Very close to the main street with the restaurants and shops as well.
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$359
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $344
  • Expedia.com
    $359
0.0 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Trip.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $178
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.2 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$275
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Expedia.com
    $250
0.1 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lakeview Powered site
Booking.com
$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $45
  • Agoda.com
    $70
  • Expedia.com
    $70
0.7 km from Edgewater Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $133
0.8 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.4 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$288
  • Priceline
    $288
  • Agoda.com
    $240
  • Expedia.com
    $256
1.6 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
Booking.com
$234
No prepayment needed
  • travelup.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.5 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$118
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.3 km from Edgewater Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
102
125
38
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location laundry facility clean rooms easy walk town centre across the road would stay again real journeys kepler track unit motel lake kitchenette accommodation tours nz host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Great service and brand new recently renovated hotel inside brand new comfortable beds brand new bathrooms and kitchens warm definitely recommend to any one looking for accommodation friendly staff and fast wifi

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Purenz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

As a group of 11 people cycling Around the mountains track we were meant to be staying at Lumsden Hotel for 2 nights. The Operator had not done his job properly. He suggested I book 2 nights in Te Anua.
The Manager was excellent and gave us accomodation at a good price. She was very friendly and efficient. Also handy to Town and Lake.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TonyD3760
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edgewater Manager, General Manager at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Kia ora,
Thank you so much for your review, I was very happy to be able to help. Thank you so much for the review, it was a pleasure to host you and help where I could. I look forward when you next visit Te Anau, I am more than happy to help you to plan the next big adventure :)
Edgewater Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

While this motel looks rather modest, the rooms are well appointed and outfitted like a small apartment. The staff is very helpful but the office hours are limited. The location is good and as stated, by the lake.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank ChathamMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edgewater Manager, General Manager at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us in Te Anau, I am pleased you were very happy with your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Te Anau.
Edgewater Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2020

We received a very welcoming arrival, but first impressions were that the place did seem a bit old. However once we were in our room everything was absolutely fine, everything we needed was there and the place was super clean if very dated - everything worked and we had no issues with anything. Good location for everything and very quiet and peaceful.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLKmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edgewater Manager, General Manager at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us in Te Anau, I am pleased you were very happy with your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Te Anau.
Edgewater Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

I read the "poor" and "terrible" reviews on TripAdvisor and noted that they were mostly done before the makeover of the units and rooms. I decided to give it a try and stayed there for 3 nights. I was not disappointed.

The unit given to me was nice and big with a full kitchenette, modern bathroom, comfortable bed and I felt completely at home. While the aircon unit is only in the living room (the bedroom has no aircon), the unit was comfortable and not stuffy. My unit was away from the main road and so I enjoyed a quiet and serene enivronment.

It is in a good location facing the lakefront and a short walk to the town centre. An ideal location for me because I can take a long walk along the lake in the morning and evening. This was most therapeutic and enjoyable.

I must commend the excellent service provided by Nichole at the front desk, who was extremely friendly and helpful. She was more than willing to assist when I asked her to help me make a few calls to re-confirm my transfers. Such a bubbly and cheerful girl who also offered me suggestions on good restaurants (and she was absolutely right!). I also met her boss, Danica, who was not only very friendly but extremely helpful, and was more than willing to help arrange gifts for her guests. Thank you very much, Nichole and Danica!

This is a place that I will come back to.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cwSPORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edgewater Manager, General Manager at Edgewater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us in Te Anau, I am pleased you were very happy with your stay and the level of service you received. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Te Anau.
Edgewater Te Anau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews