We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Arlene F

Merle & Cliff the best part

Review of House Of Wood
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2015
Hosts, Merle and Cliff, were the best part of the stay. They are extremely nice, friendly, and were helpful with suggestions. The room was extremely small and basic but clean. There was no room to put anything, so quite inconvenient for a two night stay. Locations great for walking to towncente.
Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $183
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $156
0.6 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
$253
  • Priceline
    $275
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $250
0.8 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
$331
  • Expedia.com
    $359
  • Priceline
    $359
  • Hotels.com
    $359
0.7 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
$244
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $265
  • Agoda.com
    $207
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.7 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
King Studio Apartment
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $168
1.0 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden View
$274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $274
  • Agoda.com
    $269
  • Expedia.com
    $274
0.6 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
$161
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.9 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Room
$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Agoda.com
    $225
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.3 km from House Of Wood
Free Wifi
Free parking
$46
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $50
  • Expedia.com
    $70
  • Agoda.com
    $73
1.4 km from House Of Wood
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
53.9 km from House Of Wood
Free parking
View more hotels in Te Anau
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
24
20
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
20
5
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2015

Returned back to see Merle and Cliff after 3 year break.Great to see them again but could only stay 1 night as they were fully booked.We had tried to book more in August 2014, which show how
Popular it is.Had a lovely en-suite bedroom and even better Dinner with them again. Yummie. Yummie.Once again a very enjoyable evening with Cliff telling us of personal experiences of Bert Munro, of Fastest Indian fame.
Sorry we could not stay a 2nd night. But the good news Merle recommend Shirley and Alistair friends of theirs .We had a very good stay with them.

Room tip: Book early if you want a en-suite Bedroom.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Admittedly this was the busy tourist season but the price $165 for a very basic room was excessive and certainly not worth it. Scarcely room to swing a skinny cat and the bathroom was up the stairs.
It did include breakfast but as someone who travel up to 8 months a year I have stayed in many other motels/b& B that were far cheaper and provided far more facilities. WOuldn't be staying here again.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IguanaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2014

We enjoyed a 2 day stay in November 2014. Merle & Cliff welcomed us with coffee and cake and were friendly and helpful, offering useful information about the local tourist attractions. The House of Wood (built completely of wood as you would expect) stands out from all the other properties around. Our bedroom with en-suite was very comfortable and met all our requirements. Breakfasts, selected from many options, were excellent. Merle also went out of her way to put us in touch with another B&B in Arrowtown where we were heading on to.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2014

A big thankyou to hosts Merle and Cliff for a welcoming stay. Merle cooked a lovely brekky and she really went out of her way for me with a little personal issue I experienced. We were downstairs in a room with a queen bed which was much too firm for us, the bathroom was upstairs but was just ours and there were bathrobes we could use. A great location, a very short walk to centre of town. Thanks again!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 374jennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here during a tour of South Island as we were going to Doubtful Sound. On our arrival Merle greeted us and showed us to a double room with on-suite.
The room was quiet and very comfortable. Merle invited us to dine with them as it was a quiet time and no other gusts were in that night. A delightful meal and friendly company. Next day before we left Merle booked our cruise for Doubtful Sound and prepared a picnic lunch.
We would highly recommend House of Wood and if we return to Te Anau we would not stay anywhere else

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews