We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
165
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
165
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests continental breakfast the kitchen large table amazing views half moon bay walk in wardrobe place to stay yogurt eco friendly toiletries communal deck oban bay luggage room gluten free bread our room was spacious lounge area thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2021

The lodge was a very pleasant surprise, rooms were clean, we had room no 3 with views over the Bay. Bathroom very nice, a shower and a toilet and also clean. Lisa is a super host. Very funny and welcoming. It was a pity she had some days off after that and we didn't see her again. Then we had Nikita who was much more reserved, and quiet. Conversations with her were cordial rather than genuinely. Later we saw her again on the ferry and it was obvious she didn't want to talk to us. But that's fine. Each to their own but if you work in the hospitality you need to be more friendly . But the lodge is great, and you can make your own dinners in the kitchen there at night. Breakfast is great, but if you want eggs, there is a 4 square where you can buy eggs and then you can cook eggs in the kitchen there if you don't want just cereals, toast and fruit for breakfast. They don't do lunches or dinners but you can use the kitchen when you want. By the way, it's like a normal kitchen in a normal house. And they have lots of pots and pans and 2 stoves, also fridge for you to use. The only downside to the lodge is that is has a very steep drive and you can walk to town( 10 minutes) but you also have to walk back( puff puff) or you can get a taxi for $15- which we didn't do. On the plus side it's good if you want to get fit. Overall it's a huge recommendation to go stay in this lodge. We glad we did this for our 40th wedding anniversary.

Room tip: room 3 has a great view
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannah378
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021

Room and ensuite were ample, with also a sepate room for luggage and storage, clean and well furnished. We were welcomed by Lisa, who offered helpful advice and assisted us in whatever way we needed help. Breakfast was of good standard, The views were superb. Walking from Oban village one has to climb a steepish road., no problems in general, unless a visitor has trouble with walking. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you, Lisa.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank Willemnz813
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2021 via mobile

A fantastic destination and great place to stay. The rooms are fantastic and perfect luggage room come walk in wardrobe to get rid of all your luggage and unpack.

Enjoyed the large table and delicious breakfasts each morning looking through a postcard like view over the harbour.

Many thanks to our host Lisa for sorting out a fantastic kiwi spotting tour that was appropriate for my mother to enjoy and experience kiwi in the wild (thanks for making this happen)

If your considering Stewart Island lock this accommodation in, it exceeded our expectations. AAA++

Cheers Robbie & AJ

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 288ajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Real Journeys, Guest Services / Front Office at Stewart Island Lodge - RealNZ, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2021

Hi Robbie and AJ, thanks for taking the time to provide this amazing feedback. We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us at the lodge. We agree with your comment, the views really are 'postcard like'! We look forward to welcoming you back to Stewart Island in the future.
Kind Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

Fabulous accomodation, close to town and amenities. Very welcoming and friendly staff. Very knowledgeable on local information and had great suggestions of things to do.
Very clean and comfortable. Spectacular views from the terrace. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Thank teampdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2021

Super comfortable rooms, cosy and warm - even in the bathroom.

The views are second to none.

Lisa and her team are incredible. Readily giving us the inside local scoops. Very knowledgeable ... and super accommodating. Thanks Lis!

Delicious breakfasts too.

Definitely coming again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaileTarsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews