We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
163
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys other guests continental breakfast drying room the kitchen new zealand large table half moon bay amazing views separate dressing room walk in wardrobe steep road comfortable room place to stay yogurt eco friendly toiletries communal deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

The accommodation is very comfortable, clean with a super view. It is very close to the centre of Oban but it does involve a steep walk up a hill, on a road to get to it. The lodge is run by a group of local people who don’t actually stay in the lodge but are there to greet you on arriving and to set up the breakfast table along with the continental breakfast. If there is a problem help is always at the end of a phone 24/7. The breakfast however is pretty basic but you can eat as much as you want to help yourself to.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anthonyt573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2019

anthonyt573, We are pleased to hear that you found our lodge comfortable and clean. Just to confirm we do meet our guests on arrival from the ferry or flights and that our continental breakfast is included the room rate. We hope that you enjoyed your stay on the island and wish you safe onward travel.
The Stewart Island Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2019

We couldn't believe our eyes when we looked out of our bedroom window - the view was breathtaking as well as the number of birds!
Lisa was a marvellous host and made sure we felt welcome and helped with planning some of our island activities.
The island is a magical place, the people very welcoming and the Lodge is wonderful - breakfast is very fresh and there's plenty of it!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Patricia S,
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and you are right Lisa is a marvelous host with a wealth of local knowledge. We really appreciate the five stars you awarded us. The Stewart Island Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

I enjoyed a wonderful two day stay at Stewart Lodge. The views are stunning and the gardens are filled with bird song. There is a lovely outside patio area as well as a communal inside sitting room and kitchen.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Barbara M, Thanks for letting us know you had a wonderful stay at our lodge. We hope that you can return and enjoy our hospitality again. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

Awesome view from room, even in the rain when leaving. I could not recommend here enough so worth the trip and made the experience of travelling to Stewart Island all the more rewarding! Nothing too much for the hosts - offered a wealth of knowledge in a low-key setting.
A must to return to one day ❤️❤️

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LidT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

LidT, Glad to hear you had an amazing trip to Stewart Island. Thanks for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stewart Island Lodge in the near future. The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

This lodge does not have resident hosts (owned and run by Real Journeys) which if you are used to the NZ hosting is a bit odd but you are checked in by an employee from Real Journeys and someone is on hand at breakfast time, and they will help you with any queries re trips or restaurant bookings. Breakfast is a cold continental breakfast at a communal table. The lodge has a kitchen that can be used by guests and a lovely lounge and dining area, it feels more like a hostel than a B&B or hotel. We had an end room which had very intermittent Wifi but we just used the lounge instead.
It has stunning views of the bay and is within short walking distance of the local town. However, there is a very steep short walk to the lodge which may be a problem to some people. We found it very comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishydishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Trishydishy, Thanks for posting a review. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the views from the lodge. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews