We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
163
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys other guests continental breakfast drying room the kitchen new zealand large table half moon bay amazing views separate dressing room walk in wardrobe steep road comfortable room place to stay yogurt eco friendly toiletries communal deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2019

I enjoyed a wonderful two day stay at Stewart Lodge. The views are stunning and the gardens are filled with bird song. There is a lovely outside patio area as well as a communal inside sitting room and kitchen.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Public Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Barbara M, Thanks for letting us know you had a wonderful stay at our lodge. We hope that you can return and enjoy our hospitality again. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

Awesome view from room, even in the rain when leaving. I could not recommend here enough so worth the trip and made the experience of travelling to Stewart Island all the more rewarding! Nothing too much for the hosts - offered a wealth of knowledge in a low-key setting.
A must to return to one day ❤️❤️

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank LidT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

LidT, Glad to hear you had an amazing trip to Stewart Island. Thanks for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stewart Island Lodge in the near future. The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

This lodge does not have resident hosts (owned and run by Real Journeys) which if you are used to the NZ hosting is a bit odd but you are checked in by an employee from Real Journeys and someone is on hand at breakfast time, and they will help you with any queries re trips or restaurant bookings. Breakfast is a cold continental breakfast at a communal table. The lodge has a kitchen that can be used by guests and a lovely lounge and dining area, it feels more like a hostel than a B&B or hotel. We had an end room which had very intermittent Wifi but we just used the lounge instead.
It has stunning views of the bay and is within short walking distance of the local town. However, there is a very steep short walk to the lodge which may be a problem to some people. We found it very comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishydishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Trishydishy, Thanks for posting a review. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the views from the lodge. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2019

This is a small lodge atop a short but steep road in Oban. Very friendly place with nice rooms, communal kitchen for breakfast and drinks. There’s also a laundry to use.
The views are breathtaking as is the island and we were very glad we chose to stay at the lodge.
Much appreciated the help and advice from Lisa
Mark & Karen

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

MarkJALondon, Yes, Lisa's local knowledge and advice is second to none and we will forward your appreciation to her. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

This is a small lodge where you quickly get to know the other guests. The room we had(room one)had a good sized bathroom and bedroom and even a separate dressing room. It was well equipped and the balcony areas had good views over the bay.
The lodge has a living area shared with other guests and a kitchen where you help yourself to continental breakfast in the morning. There is also a phone which you can use free of charge.
It is located via a very steep walk from the village so be aware that if you cannot walk well you may need a taxi to get out at night as no meals are available in the lodge.
Oban is a small village surrounded by walks routes for which you can get advice at the lodge or at a couple of places in the village.
The lodge is owned by Real Journeys so you are able to get up to the minute advice on trips and availability.
We very much enjoyed our stay here and I am happy to recommend it to anyone wishing to stay on the island.

Room tip: Room 1 is probably more private than the others as you have to walk past all the other rooms to get to it
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Barbet55, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the lodge. You have provided a comprehensive review which will be very useful for other future guests. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews