We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
163
32
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
32
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys other guests continental breakfast drying room the kitchen new zealand large table half moon bay amazing views separate dressing room walk in wardrobe steep road comfortable room place to stay yogurt eco friendly toiletries communal deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2019

This lodge does not have resident hosts (owned and run by Real Journeys) which if you are used to the NZ hosting is a bit odd but you are checked in by an employee from Real Journeys and someone is on hand at breakfast time, and they will help you with any queries re trips or restaurant bookings. Breakfast is a cold continental breakfast at a communal table. The lodge has a kitchen that can be used by guests and a lovely lounge and dining area, it feels more like a hostel than a B&B or hotel. We had an end room which had very intermittent Wifi but we just used the lounge instead.
It has stunning views of the bay and is within short walking distance of the local town. However, there is a very steep short walk to the lodge which may be a problem to some people. We found it very comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishydishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Trishydishy, Thanks for posting a review. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and you enjoyed the views from the lodge. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2019

This is a small lodge atop a short but steep road in Oban. Very friendly place with nice rooms, communal kitchen for breakfast and drinks. There’s also a laundry to use.
The views are breathtaking as is the island and we were very glad we chose to stay at the lodge.
Much appreciated the help and advice from Lisa
Mark & Karen

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkJALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

MarkJALondon, Yes, Lisa's local knowledge and advice is second to none and we will forward your appreciation to her. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

This is a small lodge where you quickly get to know the other guests. The room we had(room one)had a good sized bathroom and bedroom and even a separate dressing room. It was well equipped and the balcony areas had good views over the bay.
The lodge has a living area shared with other guests and a kitchen where you help yourself to continental breakfast in the morning. There is also a phone which you can use free of charge.
It is located via a very steep walk from the village so be aware that if you cannot walk well you may need a taxi to get out at night as no meals are available in the lodge.
Oban is a small village surrounded by walks routes for which you can get advice at the lodge or at a couple of places in the village.
The lodge is owned by Real Journeys so you are able to get up to the minute advice on trips and availability.
We very much enjoyed our stay here and I am happy to recommend it to anyone wishing to stay on the island.

Room tip: Room 1 is probably more private than the others as you have to walk past all the other rooms to get to it
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Barbet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

Barbet55, We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the lodge. You have provided a comprehensive review which will be very useful for other future guests. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

We loved our stay at the Stewart Island Lodge. It was very relaxing. The view from our room was beautiful. We watched the full moon rise over the bay one evening. We didn't even mind staying in the room one afternoon until the rain stopped because the room was so pleasant. Stewart Island Lodge was the best place we stayed at by far and it was not much more expensive than the worst motel we stayed at. We used the WiFi but never turned on the TV, there was no need. Much more interesting to watch the Kaka parrots on the deck or the tui or the giant pigeons in the trees down below. The walk back to the lodge from the town is no joke. It is very steep for a short bit. I would not try this hill either way with luggage but thankfully there is no need because you can arrange to be picked up when you arrive and dropped off when you leave. My husband did some laundry while there. We brought our own supplies so I can't say if any were available. I did not go to where the machines were at all. I enjoyed the breakfast. I usually had my coffee in the room using the kettle but I enjoyed the yogurt with plums and some toast in the breakfast room. We used some items from the kitchen like a knife to make sandwiches to take with us to Ulva Island. As everyone else has already mentioned, Lisa is really great and helpful to everyone.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chukarhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

chukarhead, Glad to hear your stay was a relaxing one. The full moon over Halfmoon Bay must have been a beautiful sight - and the kaka and tui in the garden always provide entertainment. Thanks again for your comprehensive review. The team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Very lovely place to stay. You dont need to leave the view is so amazing! Very comfortable handy to all facilities - natuve birds up close! But up a steep hill if you are walking - very nice breakfast - lovely friendly staff - book the top restaurant as soon as you arrive or you will miss out make sure you go on the kiwi encounter

Room tip: A view please
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmandppeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2019

nmandppeterson, thanks for taking the time to post a great eview of our lodge. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the great views over the Halfmoon Bay. Glad you made the Wild Kiwi Encounter trip. Good advice for other travellers regarding booking in advance for dining. Thanks, the Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews