We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
134
28
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
28
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests dressing room new zealand views are amazing the kitchen comfortable rooms continental breakfast yogurt local town great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay kiwi encounter
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2019

Very lovely place to stay. You dont need to leave the view is so amazing! Very comfortable handy to all facilities - natuve birds up close! But up a steep hill if you are walking - very nice breakfast - lovely friendly staff - book the top restaurant as soon as you arrive or you will miss out make sure you go on the kiwi encounter

Room tip: A view please
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmandppeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

nmandppeterson, thanks for taking the time to post a great eview of our lodge. We pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and the great views over the Halfmoon Bay. Glad you made the Wild Kiwi Encounter trip. Good advice for other travellers regarding booking in advance for dining. Thanks, the Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

The setting for this lodge is stunning, with views through the glass sliding door to the deck, out across the bay. Private, yet easily walkable to the village amenities. Our room was so large, complete with comfy chairs to enjoy that view. We were so impressed with Lisa’s responsive service, she made our visit memorable! When Lisa learned we hadn’t booked any tours and nothing was available on such short notice, she pulled some strings and arranged our dinner reservations, a day trip to Ulva Island, and a night time trip to view kiwis (12) at the forest’s edge. Thank you Lisa! One of our favorite parts of our 28 day tour of South Island!

Room tip: All rooms are great.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

SanDiegoLila, Thanks for your five star review of our lodge. We are so pleased you made full use of your time on Stewart Island, enjoying our accommodation, doing some activities and of course our host Lisa's local knowledge. We wish you well on your onward travels. The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Having booked for 1 night thinking a fly in am and fly out next day pm was right, but when we got here we just started to relax. From the friendly welcome Lisa gave and remained in her hospitality throughout. Within about 4 hours we knew we wanted to change our plans and stay on. We took many walks and did Real Journeys Ulva Island Explorer and Wild Kiwi Encounter, both had the amazing Johnnie as a guide. This boy knows his stuff.

Would definitely come back and last night after dinner watching the sun go down over a glass of wine at the balcony dinner table just made it extra special.

Thanks to all the team that made this possible at Real Journeys.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dalerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Colm, thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are thrilled to see how highly you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Lisa - she's an absolute star! Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
The team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights. The lodge was excellent with great views over the harbour. Comfortable rooms with large bathroom and separate shower. Nice continental breakfast and tea coffee available all day. A very very steep but short walk up to the Lodge. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DerekS403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Derek and thanks for the review. It was so nice having you here at the lodge with us. We hope to see you again in future.
Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful week in the lodge. It was comfortable, well appointed, and very conveniently located (if you don’t mind a bit of a hill climb at the end of the day). Our special thanks to Lisa, our host. She was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful, and she went out of her way make our stay so memorable. If you are looking for somewhere to chill out, go walking, and enjoy nature, this is the place.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlanP1846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Alan. Thank you for taking the time to post this amazing review. We will pass on your comments to Lisa, she will be thrilled. Thanks again for choosing to stay here at the lodge. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the future.
Regards, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews