We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
134
28
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
28
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests dressing room new zealand views are amazing the kitchen comfortable rooms continental breakfast yogurt local town great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay kiwi encounter
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Having booked for 1 night thinking a fly in am and fly out next day pm was right, but when we got here we just started to relax. From the friendly welcome Lisa gave and remained in her hospitality throughout. Within about 4 hours we knew we wanted to change our plans and stay on. We took many walks and did Real Journeys Ulva Island Explorer and Wild Kiwi Encounter, both had the amazing Johnnie as a guide. This boy knows his stuff.

Would definitely come back and last night after dinner watching the sun go down over a glass of wine at the balcony dinner table just made it extra special.

Thanks to all the team that made this possible at Real Journeys.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dalerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Colm, thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are thrilled to see how highly you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Lisa - she's an absolute star! Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
The team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights. The lodge was excellent with great views over the harbour. Comfortable rooms with large bathroom and separate shower. Nice continental breakfast and tea coffee available all day. A very very steep but short walk up to the Lodge. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DerekS403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Derek and thanks for the review. It was so nice having you here at the lodge with us. We hope to see you again in future.
Regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful week in the lodge. It was comfortable, well appointed, and very conveniently located (if you don’t mind a bit of a hill climb at the end of the day). Our special thanks to Lisa, our host. She was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful, and she went out of her way make our stay so memorable. If you are looking for somewhere to chill out, go walking, and enjoy nature, this is the place.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AlanP1846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Kia Ora Alan. Thank you for taking the time to post this amazing review. We will pass on your comments to Lisa, she will be thrilled. Thanks again for choosing to stay here at the lodge. Hopefully we will get to see you again in the future.
Regards, the Stewart Island Lodge team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Can't imagine a better place to stay onStewart Island. Room was ready, we were early, well appointed. Got to do laundry,no charge. Cooked our own dinne
r the 2nd night, great kitchen available with outdoor grill. Big screen TV in living room. Enjoyed the view &the sun setting as we ate dinner. Changed our departure, not a problem for delivery to ferry. Great stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Carolsailor, Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear you took advantage of the facilities we offer including laundry, the guests' kitchen and the communal lounge. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Enjoyed every minute of this wonderful paradise, accomodations and staff. Lisa, one of the staff members was very accomodating to arrange to have a guide to lead me on the walk of nearby Ulva Island and actually came in contact with a Kiwi Bird. One of the greatest highlights of my 6 week stay in NZ. Lots of space on the balconies to enjoy the beautiful view of the harbour. Highly recommend this B&B!!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 580Richard777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

580Richard777, We are so pleased that you saw a kiwi bird during your visit to beautiful Ulva Island. Thanks for the 5 star review and for highly recommending us.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews