We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

First of all, it's important to say that there aren't a huge range of accommodation options on Stewart Island. It has a population of 400 (swelled by tourists of course) and as such, there isn't a great deal of choice. Stewart Island Lodge is, in my opinion, one of the best options but it isn't cheap. I'm not going to go into all the details about the Lodge as they're on the Real Journeys (who own and run Stewart Island Lodge) website, but here are a few points that you might find useful.

Rooms are clean and spacious. I'd say that although they are really nice, they're not top drawer luxury. But then, if you're on Stewart Island for a 5-star hotel experience, quite frankly you're in the wrong place! The rooms offer seating areas, good sized bathrooms, terraces and big comfy beds.

Some things to be aware of.... The Lodge is a rectangular building and some rooms share a terrace. You may have to walk past other people's doors/windows in order to get to your room. This might be a lovely opportunity to meet your neighbours and have a natter but if you're someone who prefers more privacy, I'd try and ask for a room at either end of the Lodge. They have terraces that are a bit more private.

The catering arrangement is bed and breakfast. A member of staff is on hand during breakfast and everything is laid out for you to help yourself (it's continental rather than cooked). For us, this was great, but if you want a huge fry-up you're going to be disappointed! Also, it's probably worth mentioning that no one lives at the Lodge, i.e. it's not like the traditional B&B in someone's home, and the only people there overnight are the guests. There's an excellent kitchen for guests to use and everything is on hand if you fancy cooking yourself up a feast at any time of the day or night.

You'll be met at the ferry when you arrive on the island and you'll be driven to Stewart Lodge. You'll instantly be impressed (is that the right word?!!) by the ratio of the incline on the hill up to the Lodge. It's the sort of hill that makes you wonder if you might need to defy gravity! Great for walking off a huge dinner but anyone with a disability or a dodgy heart would be well advised to check it out before making a reservation.

The hill does, however, allow a superb view of Oban Bay. When the sun shines and you're sitting in the Lodge's lounge or its lovely garden, with a glass of wine in hand, there can be fewer places on this earth that could beat it.

By the way, Stewart Island is beautiful. If you love peace and quiet and bird watching, and just want to chill, walk and soak up the scenery for a few days among some of the most laid back people you could ever wish to meet, this is the place for you. I had a hard time leaving.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Ruth, thanks for taking the time to post this detailed review. We are pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

This is more like a bed and breakfast than a 'hotel'. It's quaint and very comfortable. All of the rooms have an amazing view of the Half Moon Bay. The room was clean, comfortable and very ample for our needs.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank meanmoma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

meanmoma3, Thanks for the 5 star review and for mentioning, that your room was clean and comfortable and, the amazing view of Halfmoon Bay from the lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge for multiple nights next time!
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Although we were here in another era of the Stewart Island Lodge, we were very happy to re-enjoy the peace and quiet of this lodge. Lisa, the on-site manager is an invaluable wealth of knowledge along with her superior interpersonal skills. Through her sage advice we discovered the fresh water river cruise that gave us more insight on the fabulous nature on Stewart Island. You will find this lodge well appointed with a great view of Half Moon Bay from the veranda, be it morning, day or night!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank BillT910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Bill T, Thank you for taking the time to post a review that will be useful for other travellers. Yes the lodge is peaceful and quiet and that's what our guests enjoy so much. The views are pretty good too! Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Top accommodation in a top location. Our welcome hostess was Wendy, and we also met Lisa, the main hostess. From the pick up service from the ferry, the check-in procedure, the breakfast, the view, the comfort, the convenient location and the laundry facilities, it was all superb. A maximum of six rooms are on offer, so at no time do you feel overwhelmed by lots of strangers around you. The breakfast is of good quality and plentiful, which included plunger coffee. The hostesses are chatty, but not intrusive, and very helpful.
The best views are from the shared breakfast room, as the plants obscure the view from when you are inside your room. Binoculars are available, too. Just another indication of the quality of the service.

Room tip: We only saw one of the four original B&B rooms. We did not see the ones that have been created from the original main house.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank trav078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for taking the time to post this amazing review. We are absolutely thrilled to read your comments and delighted to see just how much you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Hopefully the rest of your time in New Zealand was just as relaxing.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

I was fortunate to have short stay at the island and Real adventures recommended this lodge. Superb location and incredibly helpful staff. I was recommended to do a couple of tours and both were great.
The tour that blew me away was the Wild Kiwi Encounter. On the way over to the area to see them we even had the fortune to get a couple of Albatros escort us, but the highlight of the evening was to spot 3 Kiwi.....mind blowing. Even had one walk within inches of our group. Highly recommend this trip.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Kevin H, We are so pleased that you saw not one, but three kiwi birds during your trip. Thanks for the 5 star review and for mentioning that we have a superb location and helpful staff - we agree!
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews