We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2018

I was fortunate to have short stay at the island and Real adventures recommended this lodge. Superb location and incredibly helpful staff. I was recommended to do a couple of tours and both were great.
The tour that blew me away was the Wild Kiwi Encounter. On the way over to the area to see them we even had the fortune to get a couple of Albatros escort us, but the highlight of the evening was to spot 3 Kiwi.....mind blowing. Even had one walk within inches of our group. Highly recommend this trip.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Kevin H, We are so pleased that you saw not one, but three kiwi birds during your trip. Thanks for the 5 star review and for mentioning that we have a superb location and helpful staff - we agree!
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Fabulous location, light and airy rooms and great views over the bay. These are best enjoyed from the spacious outside deck, or the enormous picture window in the lounge. Lisa was the perfect host, giving us a really warm welcome and loads of information about walks, places to eat, local culture and where to spot a kiwi! The beds were the most comfortable we had experienced in New Zealand. Thank you, a great couple of days enjoyed by all the family.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Kia Ora and thanks for taking the time to post this excellent review. We are absolutely delighted to read your comments and thrilled that your family enjoyed their time with us here at the Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards, the team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We expected Stewart Island Lodge to be “nice”, but knowing that it is owned by Real Journeys, the dominant corporate entity on the island, we expected the Lodge to be “corporate” in character. Instead, we found not only a lovely spacious room with a beyond-spectacular view, but also the feel of a friendly, comfortable, casual bed and breakfast. Lisa, the current “host”, clearly has a lot to do with that feel as well as with the seemingly efficient operation of the place. Lisa has just the right approach. She is full of good information, fun to talk with and always available when you need her, but she never crowds you. Our stay with her was great. What more can I say?

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Ronald G, We are so pleased that you were pleasantly surprised that our lodge was friendly, casual and comfortable. You are right, Lisa is a huge asset to the Lodge as she is so knowledgeable about the island. The great views over the bay from the lounge and balcony add to the appeal of our B&B. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We loved this quiet lodge perched on a steep hill with marvelous views of Halfmoon Bay. Lodge keeper Lisa is so welcoming and full of good info if you are on your first visit - and she’s very funny. Her continental breakfast is enough to last visitors for several hours of hiking. Kitchen facilities good for self-catering; laundry and drying room facilities excellent.

For a good tour of Ulva Island,contact Angela at Beaks and Feathers, whose knowledge of flora and fauna is extensive. Boat captain Peter is the best.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Jane P, Thanks for posting that we are a great place to stay on Stewart Island. With only 6 guest rooms, it tends to be very quiet. Lisa is always welcoming and full of local information, as you found out. Thank you for choosing to book with us.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Located up a short but steep road from town. Marvelous views. Clean spacious rooms with sitting porch outside. Excellent hearty continental breakfast. Staff readily arranged for tour of Ulva Island with Angie and taxi service as needed. Prepare for a wonderful immersion into Stewart Island culture. Two nights was just right.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

ron028, Thanks for taking the time to post the five star review of your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews