We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
126
26
5
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
26
5
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real journeys steep hill other guests new zealand dressing room views are amazing comfortable rooms continental breakfast great knowledge isn't cheap wet room your luggage half moon bay yogurt the perfect place to stay kitchen facilities breakfast table
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Our two nights at Stewart Island Lodge were a highlight of our South Island trip -- and that is saying something because the South Island is full of incredible experiences. Wendy and Lisa were our hosts during our stay and they were both friendly, hospitable and very knowledgeable about the island. At the end of a day walking around Ulva Island or exploring Stewart Island, there is no more comfortable spot than the tables on the deck above the bird- and flower-filled garden of the lodge looking out over the little harbor. A truly magical spot.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. Picked up from the ferry upon arrival which was nice as the lodge is at the top of a very (though short) steep hill. The location is excellent and only a 5 minute, at most, walk into the village. Breakfast was very nicely presented and quite adequate. One of the highlights of this facility is Lisa who runs a very efficient ship with great knowledge and willingness - she is a delight and great asset to the company.

Room tip: All rooms have an excellent view of the bay.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Colleen1205, Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Stewart Island Lodge. Yes you are right, Lisa is a fountain of knowledge for everything Stewart Island and more. We are pleased that you enjoyed your two-night birthday treat and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

Stayed at the lodge for one night. We were picked up from the ferry on arrival. The room was very nice. The view over Halfmoon Bay as stunning. Breakfast the next morning was good. We were dropped off at the ferry terminal at 10 am. Staff were informative and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Sharon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

S3haron, Thanks for posting your five star review about our fantastic accommodation. We appreciate your feedback.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Stewart Island Lodge for three nights and just loved it there. The room and other facilities were top notch and the view of Half Moon Bay from our room was magnificent. We were provided with an excellent continental breakfast each morning. The icing on the cake for us was the manager, Lisa. She was so pleasant to deal with and couldn't do enough for us, giving us pointers on what to see, directions and even making bookings and finding details out on our behalf. She really enhanced our whole experience on Stewart Island.
A special unexpected bonus was having five kaka come to visit when we were on the deck.

Below is the view from our room and a photo of the cheeky kaka!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flissb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Real_Journeys, Guest Relations Manager at Stewart Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Fliss49, Thanks for selecting our lodge for your 3-night say and for awarding us 5 stars for our "top notch" room and facilities.
Great picture of the kakas on the deck. Do come back for another visit soon.
The Team at Stewart Island Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We stayed at the Lodge seven years ago when it was in the hands of a private owner, as the lodge is now owned by a corporation the customer experience this time was different, gone were the special touches, such as drinks and canapés early evening in the lounge and freshly baked cookies in your room. We still enjoyed our stay, the rooms are very comfortable and the views are amazing, we just felt that the corporate approach took some of the magic away. Breakfast was limited and included plastic cheese - would have liked a wider choice at breakfast and fresh fruit rather than tinned. Be warned, check out is 10am sharp and you will be expected to leave the Lodge at that time.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews